Question

Honor Student
CharlotteT
Message 1 of 12 (5,305 Views)

How do I get my printer to print after installing a non-HP cartridge? The job is on hold.

After installing a new ink cartridge and aligning it (which included printing) my HP Photosmart 5510 printer will not let me resume printing a job because it is a non-HP ink cartridge.  I am using a Mac with OS X v. 10.5.8.

Intern
imustknowitall
Message 2 of 12 (5,303 Views)

Re: How do I get my printer to print after installing a non-HP cartridge? The job is on hold.

i'm not good with mac.. but if you're trying to resume a print job.. and it's not printing.. have you already cleared the print qeueu? when print jobs get stuck in there the printer doesn't proceed with anything.

Honor Student
CharlotteT
Message 3 of 12 (5,301 Views)

Re: How do I get my printer to print after installing a non-HP cartridge? The job is on hold.

The reason it won't print is that HP has it on hold. The printer is on-line. It is ready to print. There is no other job in line. The printer message says that there is a Non-HP cartridge installed and that it cannot guarantee the quality, etc. If I could get it out of hold it would work.
Intern
imustknowitall
Message 4 of 12 (5,300 Views)

I see, so that was the error message.. I guess that's what's in the front panel..?

Isn't there any prompts on the display? Like an OK or an END button? I thought that would just be a disclaimer.

Honor Student
CharlotteT
Message 5 of 12 (5,298 Views)

I can find no way to remove the message.
Intern
imustknowitall
Message 6 of 12 (5,297 Views)

If even the Home and Back icon is not lit up..Open the catridge access door and see if the error message changes.

Also, try unplugging the printer from the power source while it's on to reset it.

Honor Student
CharlotteT
Message 7 of 12 (5,296 Views)

doesn't change it. I think HP is going to have to do or fix something.
Honor Student
deanflory
Message 8 of 12 (5,044 Views)

[ Edited ]