Question

Student
deputywayne
Message 1 of 21 (12,877 Views)

officejet 6600 printhead appears to be missing

I have a 3mo old officejet 6600, was working fine then "the printhead appears to be missing, not detceted, or incorrectly installed" i have done what the printer said to fix the issue.  but still will not work.

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 2 of 21 (12,861 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 printhead appears to be missing

This document has information with troubleshooting steps for that message:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02899429&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=4323648&tmp...

Keep in mind that this is for another model of printer so there could be slight differences, but the overall steps would be nearly identical.

007OHMSS

I was a support engineer for HP.

If the advice resolved the situation, please mark it as a solution. Thank you.
E67 Student
Student
E67
Message 3 of 21 (12,746 Views)

I am unable to remove the printhead as advised in all the help information please advist

Student
Shade02
Message 4 of 21 (12,480 Views)

I've had the same issue, and HP support doesn't seem to have an answer for this one.

This comment by the HP support engineer. "Keep in mind that this is for another model of printer so there could be slight differences, but the overall steps would be nearly identical." upsets me as these models have little to nothing in common, and the printhead mechanism is not able to be removed at all.  I could find no other information online about this issue for this model of HP printer, other than complaints about the same problem. There were more user complaints for this product on amazon on this issue than there were positive reviews. My printer is 3 months old, and I'm out the cost of the printer plus all the ink cartridges I just purchased. This will be the last HP product I will ever buy.

Honor Student
Wildrat58
Message 5 of 21 (12,010 Views)

I have owned several hp products and I swear them off everythime.