Question
Reply
 
Top Student
jennpetersen
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎12-06-2009
Message 1 of 12 (2,535 Views)

New modem= no more working printer

I have a Macbook Pro and a Photosmart 4580.  Our modem died.  Replaced it with the identical modem.  Got all the computers set back up and working.  Tried adding the printer after downloading and re-installing software.  The printer shows up, but when I click print and check the print que, next to the print job it says stopped.  I've been messing with this for 2 days.. . what am i missing???

Associate Professor
Wi-Fi-Guy
Posts: 1,537
Member Since: ‎11-17-2008
Message 2 of 12 (2,531 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

Try this:  reset the print queue ( see this link http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1341 ) then re-add the printer.

Regards / Jim B / Wireless Enthusiasts
( While I'm an embedded wireless systems engineer at work, on this forum I do not represent my former employer, Hewlett-Packard, or my current employer, Microsoft )
+ Click the White Kudos star on the left as a way to say "thank you" for helpful posts.
Top Student
jennpetersen
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎12-06-2009
Message 3 of 12 (2,539 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

Ok, I got as far as going to Utilities in the Go menu:  I don't see Printer Setup Utility Menu

 

"From the Printer Setup Utility menu, choose Reset Printing System."

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 4 of 12 (2,535 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

Delete and re-add the printer in the print queue:

- Sys Prefs, Print & Fax
- Select the printer in question and click the minus sign at the bottom of the list
- Select the plus sign to re-add it. Look for the printer, select it and wait until the "Add" button becomes available. Click it.

If this does not work, do the same thing, only instead of the second step, right (control) click the print queue area and select Reset Printing System.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
jennpetersen
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎12-06-2009
Message 5 of 12 (2,522 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

Ok, I've done all that.  I click print, but nothing happens.  When I open the print que box the print job is there but under status it still says stopped.

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 6 of 12 (2,515 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

Print a Network Config Page from the printer front panel.  Get its IP address from the print out.

 

Type the IP into a browser to see if you can communicate with the printer.   If you can, we will go one way, if you can't, another.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
jennpetersen
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎12-06-2009
Message 7 of 12 (2,505 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

It is saying IP address is not applicable.  

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 8 of 12 (2,496 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

OK, your printer is not on your network.  We will have to go through another printer install process.

 

Tell me what version of OS X you are using and I'll help.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
jennpetersen
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎12-06-2009
Message 9 of 12 (2,495 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

It's OS X 10.5.8

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 10 of 12 (2,488 Views)

Re: New modem= no more working printer

Before you start I would run the HP Uninstall program located in Applications, Hewlett-Packard.  Then reset the printing system as described above.  Then run a Software Update and finally reboot.  Then you are ready for:

 

Download the software from here and run the installer.  It will have you temporarily connect a USB cable for setup, but you will remove that after setup is complete.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation