Question

Student
subwaychronicle
Message 1 of 21 (8,888 Views)

Photosmart Printer C4780 says OFFLINE. Cannot print

Hello,

I have the Photosmart C4780 printer and my computer is a Mac with OSX operating system. Even though this is printer has wireless capabilities, I always connect using a USB cable. I don't have a router and so I set up the printer connection with USB.  I've been using the printer for about 6 months this way with no problem. 

Then suddenly the blue light above the wireless indicator on the printer comes on and I can no longer print. Instead I get a message saying that the printer is offline. To my knowledge I didn't click anything to change the settings. 

I checked the forum posts and tried some things that others have listed - I reinstalled the software. I uninstalled all of the software using HP uninstalled (though it didn't look like it fully uninstalled) and then tried to reinstall. Neither worked.

Help! Does anyone know what I can do now? 

Thanks! 

Provost
PrintDoc
Message 2 of 21 (8,887 Views)

Re: Photosmart Printer C4780 says OFFLINE. Cannot print

From the control panel of the printer go to Setup (Scan) > Networks.  Scroll up and down to turn the wireless radio off.

Now, reset the printing system:

- Sys Prefs, Print & Fax
- Right (control) click the print queue area and select Reset Printing System. WARNING - this will delete ALL of your printers!
- Select the plus sign to re-add it. Look for the printer, select it and wait until the "Add" button becomes available. Click it.

I am employed by HP
Honor Student
captkirk54
Message 3 of 21 (8,821 Views)

What are you supposed to do when you follow all of these steps outlined AND you even turn the wireless radio back on, and it still says printer is offline?

Provost
PrintDoc
Message 4 of 21 (8,818 Views)

What version of OS X?  Where did you get the software for your printer?

I am employed by HP
Honor Student
captkirk54
Message 5 of 21 (8,816 Views)