Question

Student
magie0987
Message 1 of 32 (48,832 Views)
Accepted Solution

printer 'offline' when actually not

HP photosmart 3200

worked fine until two days ago, wont print.  Message says offline but everything is plugged in, downloaded drivers and software -no help.  Using new USB cable but still not reading.  Have a mac, what else can I try before having to buy another printer?

Associate Professor
Wi-Fi-Guy
Message 2 of 32 (48,829 Views)

Re: printer 'offline' when actually not

Try this sequence:

1. Unplug the USB cable and reset the Mac printing system (see this link http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1341).
  2. Turn off the printer and unplug the power supply.  Now  press and hold the * and 6 keys while plugging in the printer.  This will reset the printer.
  3. Let the printer power up and wait until it finishes the extended power-up sequence.
  4. Plug the USB cable in.
Regards / Jim B / Wireless Enthusiasts
( While I'm an embedded wireless systems engineer at work, on this forum I do not represent my former employer, Hewlett-Packard, or my current employer, Microsoft )
+ Click the White Kudos star on the left as a way to say "thank you" for helpful posts.
Intern
Medic1
Message 3 of 32 (48,805 Views)

The wifiguy's post may work temporarily but it is not a permanent fix. 

I figured this all out after many unsuccessful attempts with HP Support, my Internet Service Provider and various troubleshooting tasks including reinstalling HP software over and over and over.  Well, through self teaching on the internet and 6 grueling months of research, I FINALLY figured it out.  OMG!  I am a Paramedic and somewhat computer literate but by far no expert.  I here all of you!  Nobody seems to have the answer but I promise…I do.  Here ya go!