Question

Honor Student
bunyette
Message 1 of 12 (6,579 Views)

Connecting Envy 14 to VGA display

Hi there

I bought the Envy 14 (1002tx) knowing that it required a converter to display through VGA.  I bought a HP HDMI to VGA converter and have had no success so far.

When I plug the converter into the HDMI port my notebook display changes (to a lower resolution) so it's definitely picking up that it's connected.  However when I attempt to connect to the interactive whiteboard or another monitor I can't get anything on the second screen.  The whiteboard reports that there is 'no input detected'.  Has anyone had this problem and solved it?  I am a teacher so I desperately need to be able to connect to the Smartboard for my classes.  I have never had this problem with any other laptops, including the school laptops (they all just work once you plug into the VGA port). 

If I had known that it wouldn't work I wouldn't have bought the Envy. 

Thanks in advance.

Top Student
NAGA_SID
Message 2 of 12 (6,560 Views)

Re: Connecting Envy 14 to VGA display

Hi, While I do not have a solution, I am facing a similar problem. I have not been able to source a HDMI to VGA converter till now and now I get to know from your post that it doesnt work either. I echo your sentiment that if I had known this, i wouldn't have bought a ENVY either!! I am a trainer and I am pretty paralysed too. I haven;t been able to get tot he right person in HP India for this and all the calls to the call centre have been pretty useless. I am planning to file a consumer court case in India next week based on this issue. NS
Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Message 3 of 12 (6,548 Views)

@ bunyette - So is this happen on AC adapter or Battery Power... The Envy 14s are equipped with Switchable graphics, so based on the power source, it switches between integrated graphics to discrete graphics card... And with regards to resolution lowering, is it happen just by connecting the HDMI to VGA adapter?