Question

Honor Student
porcelinasoma
Message 1 of 6 (2,956 Views)

dv6449us blinking screen?

Within the last few days, my laptop screen has started randomly blinking black, almost like it's a loose connection to the screen.  It's not too hot when it does this, because it usually happens right when I open it.  I don't have a warranty anymore, and I'm not paying for one because the HP technical service sucks (in my experience).  Is there a display setting or remedy for this issue?  It blinks so fast that it could give an epileptic a seizure, and it really hurts my eyes.  Sometimes it becomes so unbearable that I can't read anything on the screen.  I'm a college student, so I need to read things on my computer often, and it's the only computer I have available to me.

HELP!

Honor Student
janalee
Message 2 of 6 (2,937 Views)

Re: dv6449us blinking screen?

I just started having the same problem and I have only had this notebook two months....have you found out what is causing it?
Honor Student
porcelinasoma
Message 3 of 6 (2,931 Views)

I've found, at least with mine, that sometimes closing the notebook, then reopening it will make it stop.  Or pushing the screen back pretty far will help.  But these only help sometimes.  You should still have the manufacturer warranty, and they may be able to fix it.  But good luck getting hold of a person that you can understand.  They outsource the whole technical support group to India, and they don't have the best English.  But I had to send mine in a few months back because the wireless card was dead, and after them sending me a part for it, me sending the computer out to get them to fix it, them forcing me over the phone to wipe my hard drive (because that would help what now?), and then me sending it back to them again, it finally got fixed after a month of me not having a computer.

I have hard feelings.  I'm going out today to buy a Dell desktop.  I'm through with HP.

Honor Student
porcelinasoma