Question

Teacher
Sticky1981
Message 1 of 11 (17,802 Views)
Accepted Solution

2 Year old Laptop will not boot

Hi,

My HP laptop dv9030ea will not boot.  when I attempt to switch it on it seems to act normally (Quick Launch Buttons illuminate, fan starts up, and DVD drive spins up) for around 10 seconds.  Before anything is displayed on screen all activity stops the QLBs flash once and the Boot process stops and power apparently switches off.  I have had similar problem a year ago and the motherboard was replaced under warrenty.  Now my warrenty is over, I suspect it needs major work again and I am left feeling very aggrieved.  Can anyone offer advice on further trouble shooting (I'm an engineer so failry technically skilled) I am prepared to get my hanbds dirty if needs be, but would prefer HP to be a little more helpfull.

Regards,

Phil

Provost
CherylG
Message 2 of 11 (17,779 Views)

Re: 2 Year old Laptop will not boot

Try reseating the memory cards,with power cord and battery removed.Press the clips outward that hold each end and the card will popup to be grasped and removed.Reseat each one,inserting at an angle into slot, then press down to lock into clips.

Next insert just the power cord and try to boot.If that works you can reinsert battery and try booting with both.If all is well at this point check to see if you have the latest BIOS posted for your model  HERE

Good luck!

******Clicking the Thumbs-Up button is a way to give Kudo's -Thanks!.******
**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue to help others who are searching**
Teacher
Sticky1981
Message 3 of 11 (17,774 Views)

Thanks for the input Cheryl, however I had just come across this advice in the HP "support" site.  I tried that and unfortunately had no joy.