Question
Reply
 
Teacher
bnjroo
Posts: 119
Member Since: ‎07-29-2011
Message 1 of 11 (3,236 Views)
Accepted Solution

Actual speed of the a8-3500m Quad Processor in DV6-6140US Notebook

[ Edited ]

was trying to figure out what the real speed of my laptop's cpu is. AMD's website AMD Quad-Core A8-Series APU for Notebooks says quad-core 1.5ghz. i ran novabench on it, and it confirmed 1.5ghz running on four cores. the thing is, on staples' website HP Pavilion dv6-6140us (where i purchased my machine) it says... AMD Quad-Core A8-3500M Accelerated Processor (2.4GHz)

 

soooo, what's the deal?


"There's no such thing as a fool proof system. Someone will make a better fool tomorrow."
Associate Dean
Mumbodog
Posts: 11,026
Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Message 2 of 11 (3,216 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

"As a mobile chip, AMD has also ramped up the power-saving features. Which brings us neatly to the specifics of the AMD A8-3500M model tested here. Like most of the new A Series range, it's a quad-core processor. Seven A Series chips are available at launch, five quads and two entry-level dual-core models.

 

Where the power savings come in involves the 3500M's clocks. Nominally, it's a 1.5GHz processor, which isn't all that impressive. But thanks to a new version of AMD's Turbo Core feature, up to two cores can run at 2.4GHz."

 

http://www.techradar.com/reviews/pc-mac/pc-components/processors/amd-a8-3500m-965258/review?artc_pg=...

Teacher
bnjroo
Posts: 119
Member Since: ‎07-29-2011
Message 3 of 11 (3,213 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

i have only dug a little in AMD's site, but i was unable to find the information you pointed out for me, thanks for the link.

"There's no such thing as a fool proof system. Someone will make a better fool tomorrow."
Honor Student
PatrickC
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎01-22-2009
Message 4 of 11 (2,545 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

     On 08/10/11 I recieved my new HP Quad-Core dv6z A8-3510MX APU with Radeon HD Graphics 1.8 Ghz (6GB Ram & 1GB of HDMI Video).  I have called HP, I have searched the AMD website, The Internet (Google Search) AND the best Amswer that there is - even for HP is that when / if I were to run enough "Applications" at once that the Processor would switch to the 2.4 Ghz I paid extra for.  Really there aren't enough applications that I normally run to even begin to load down this machine.

     The question is (1) Where on the AMD website is "Turbo" inquiry addressed?  What is there explanation of how it works?  Do they have updated drivers?  Above in this thread there was mention of a "Turbo" boost on the AMD site / HP site for this Quad-Core? - Where can we see something Official on that?

     In my opinion I have gotten everything and more that I paid for with this machine - I ordered directly from HP.  I just want to make this machine do as much as possible and to apply the latest and greatest of everything to this box.

     Is this HP forum website where we seek to delve into these "mysteries"

Teacher
bnjroo
Posts: 119
Member Since: ‎07-29-2011
Message 5 of 11 (2,531 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

any ideas if there is a similar utility/monitor for the AMD cpu?

"There's no such thing as a fool proof system. Someone will make a better fool tomorrow."
Associate Dean
Mumbodog
Posts: 11,026
Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Message 6 of 11 (2,528 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

[ Edited ]
Honor Student
PatrickC
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎01-22-2009
Message 7 of 11 (2,522 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

I am not sure where to Accept these answers, but I accept these answers to questions.  Thank You

Associate Dean
Mumbodog
Posts: 11,026
Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Message 8 of 11 (2,519 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

You accept the best answer to your question. I can change the accepted answer for you if you want.

Honor Student
PatrickC
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎01-22-2009
Message 9 of 11 (2,510 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

Please tell me how to accept the answer, because I would like to know how that is done.  Can you help me with that?

Associate Dean
Mumbodog
Posts: 11,026
Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Message 10 of 11 (2,504 Views)

Re: dv6-6140us amd a8-3500m quad processor turbo? question

Its already been accepted, you cannot change it, but I can get a moderator to change it if you wish, you need to tell me which one to change it to though,

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation