Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Elcondor
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-05-2014
Message 1 of 6 (91 Views)
Accepted Solution

Brace key

Hello

 

because my Compaq CQ58 hasn't a numeric pad I don't know how insert special characters like braces (ALT123 and ALT125).

 

John Rossati

Distinguished Professor
visruth
Posts: 2,727
Member Since: ‎04-01-2014
Message 2 of 6 (76 Views)

Re: Brace key

Hi there

Enable num key while holding "function" press and relase "num lock
Press and hold both Alt and Fn keys while entering the alt code
Switch "num lock" off in the same way as you switched it on to continue using your keyboard normally

**CLICK 'ACCEPT AS SOLUTION' TO HELP OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM**

+++ Click Kudos / White thumb to say thanks
+++ Click Accept as Solution if this solves your issue
Honor Student
Elcondor
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-05-2014
Message 3 of 6 (71 Views)

Re: Brace key

Thanks

 

I apologize, but I am not able to do what you told me:

... holding "function" is the "fn" key?

... "num lock" key is the key which blocs the shift?

 

In this case this doesn't works.

 

John Rossati

 

Distinguished Professor
visruth
Posts: 2,727
Member Since: ‎04-01-2014
Message 4 of 6 (67 Views)

Re: Brace key

i think the problem with entering special characters varies among different laptops & netbooks then.

please read following:
http://superuser.com/questions/201666/how-do-i-get-a-special-character-without-a-number-pad

https://in.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20110714122633AAtGKAK

regards,

+++ Click Kudos / White thumb to say thanks
+++ Click Accept as Solution if this solves your issue
Honor Student
Elcondor
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-05-2014
Message 5 of 6 (59 Views)

Re: Brace key

Thanks

 

in the sites  that you have indicated I found a solution (cumbersome) and some suggestions.

 

 

John Rossati

Distinguished Professor
visruth
Posts: 2,727
Member Since: ‎04-01-2014
Message 6 of 6 (55 Views)

Re: Brace key

@John
Glad I could help you it.

**If this thread had given you the solution, Kindly click 'ACCEPT AS SOLUTION' to help others with the same problem**

Thanks,

+++ Click Kudos / White thumb to say thanks
+++ Click Accept as Solution if this solves your issue
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation