Question
Reply
 
Top Student
drikilbride
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎04-07-2010
Message 1 of 6 (42,048 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Hi

 

For some reason I can't get the backslash key to work on my keyboard. Everytime I try to use a backslash I get the following symbols

 

- this if i simply hit they key #

- or this if I use shift ~

 

The hash symbol is actually located above the number three on the keyboard, when I do shift on it I get £

 

I'm at a loss as to why my keys are all over the place!

 

Anyone got any ideas as it is driving me crazy!

Thanks

Provost
erico
Posts: 24,883
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 6 (42,042 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Hi,


drikilbride wrote:

Hi

 

For some reason I can't get the backslash key to work on my keyboard. Everytime I try to use a backslash I get the following symbols

 

- this if i simply hit they key #

- or this if I use shift ~

 

The hash symbol is actually located above the number three on the keyboard, when I do shift on it I get £

 

I'm at a loss as to why my keys are all over the place!

 

Anyone got any ideas as it is driving me crazy!

Thanks


Sounds like you need to check the keyboard language setting. That would be located in the Control Panel under Region and Language.
Best regards,
erico

 

 





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
drikilbride
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎04-07-2010
Message 3 of 6 (42,037 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Done that already!

 

Its set to English Ireland / Irish on all those settings!

 

Any other ideas?

 

Thansks!!

Provost
erico
Posts: 24,883
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 4 of 6 (42,035 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

[ Edited ]

HI,

That is generally what the problem is. It is a matter the wrong keyboard mapping being loaded. I have the same hassle from time to time between the English) and Dutch languages that are installed in my OS.

Try adding  English US (International) to the language bar.

Best regards,
erico





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
drikilbride
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎04-07-2010
Message 5 of 6 (42,001 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

That fixed it, thanks a mil your a star!!!

Student
mayowa
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-04-2012
Message 6 of 6 (35,360 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Great man it solve my problem

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation