Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3 (37284 Views)
Reply
Top Student
drikilbride
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2010
Message 1 of 6 (37,284 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Hi

 

For some reason I can't get the backslash key to work on my keyboard. Everytime I try to use a backslash I get the following symbols

 

- this if i simply hit they key #

- or this if I use shift ~

 

The hash symbol is actually located above the number three on the keyboard, when I do shift on it I get £

 

I'm at a loss as to why my keys are all over the place!

 

Anyone got any ideas as it is driving me crazy!

Thanks

Provost
erico
Posts: 23,338
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 6 (37,278 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Hi,


drikilbride wrote:

Hi

 

For some reason I can't get the backslash key to work on my keyboard. Everytime I try to use a backslash I get the following symbols

 

- this if i simply hit they key #

- or this if I use shift ~

 

The hash symbol is actually located above the number three on the keyboard, when I do shift on it I get £

 

I'm at a loss as to why my keys are all over the place!

 

Anyone got any ideas as it is driving me crazy!

Thanks


Sounds like you need to check the keyboard language setting. That would be located in the Control Panel under Region and Language.
Best regards,
erico

 

 



****If my suggestion was helpful, you can say thanks by clicking on the purple thumbs up icon in the lower left corner of a post ***

****Please click on the Accept As Solution button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having****
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
drikilbride
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2010
Message 3 of 6 (37,273 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Done that already!

 

Its set to English Ireland / Irish on all those settings!

 

Any other ideas?

 

Thansks!!

Provost
erico
Posts: 23,338
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 4 of 6 (37,271 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

[ Edited ]

HI,

That is generally what the problem is. It is a matter the wrong keyboard mapping being loaded. I have the same hassle from time to time between the English) and Dutch languages that are installed in my OS.

Try adding  English US (International) to the language bar.

Best regards,
erico



****If my suggestion was helpful, you can say thanks by clicking on the purple thumbs up icon in the lower left corner of a post ***

****Please click on the Accept As Solution button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having****
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
drikilbride
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2010
Message 5 of 6 (37,237 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

That fixed it, thanks a mil your a star!!!

Student
mayowa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 6 of 6 (30,596 Views)

Re: Can't get backslash to work on keyboard - HP Pavilion dm3

Great man it solve my problem

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation