Question
Reply
 
Top Student
CQ60-216TX
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎07-31-2014
Message 1 of 10 (204 Views)
Accepted Solution

Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

[ Edited ]

Hello - Looking for Help with info for a possible CPU upgrade

 

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX Notebook PC....

 

Motherboard is HP spare no. 488338-001. Its the one with onboard nVidia graphics and hdmi output.

Heres an example from eBay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-compaq-G50-CQ50-CQ60-Intel-laptop-Motherboard-488338-001-tested-/39059073...

 

The current CPU is an Intel Pentium Dual Core T4200 2.0Ghz, with 800Mhz FSB, socket P...

see: http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SL/SLGJN.html

 

The options available in the CQ60 User Guide link: item 13 down:

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c02985882.pdf

relate only to the:

 

T3200 CPU http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/QB/QBNT.html

 

and T3400 CPU http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/QG/QGFM.html

 

processors respectively both with a FSB of 667Mhz. and 1Mb L2 cache

 

 

The question is what CPU can be used as a possible substitute for a performance gain over the T4200?

 

The following appear to be very similar to the T4200 but run at a higher spec clock speed. Would any of these be viable and of course would it even be worth doing on such an older machine now? Would the BIOS support a higher clocked speed CPU?

 

T4300 (2.1GHz), T4400 (2.2Ghz) , T4500 (2.3Ghz),  - All run 800Mhz bus speed and 1Mb L2 cache

 

http://ark.intel.com/products/42925/Intel-Pentium-Processor-T4500-1M-Cache-2_30-GHz-800-MHz-FSB?q=t4...

 

Any other ideas on any other CPU's not mentioned that could also work with the above specified motherboard would also be appreciated.

Thanks

 

 

Master's Graduate
Winos
Posts: 676
Member Since: ‎12-24-2012
Message 2 of 10 (202 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

[ Edited ]

Hello CQ60-216TX ,

 

Welcome at the HP forums

 

After searching in http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c02985882.pdf with your information.

I think it will support up to  the P8600 2.4-GHz processor. However that one as the 1066FSB which means that if you upgrade to it it will be slowed down by the memory.

 

For as far as i know now I should go for the ■ T5900 2.2-GHz processor on page 8 

This becouse it won't have problems with the memory or you need 1066Mhz memory which is possible in ddr2 and 3 so we need to know your memory options in your laptop (I guess ddr2)

 

My questions:

If my above options are right you should have the NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GE with
256 MB of dedicated video memory since that is the only one with nvidia in this document with an intel CPU marked with an X.

 

Can I have your PCH number?

 

The question is: What do you want to do with this laptop since a 256MB videocard combined with your current cpu and even new cpu isn't very fast anymore. Do you want to put all the effort in it?

 

If you are running linux I would say yes but if you are running Windows I don't know if you should put your time in it.

 

Winos

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
The doors of wisdom are never shut. Benjamin Franklin
&
We must use time wisely and forever realize that the time is always ripe to do right. Nelson Mandela


Top Student
CQ60-216TX
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎07-31-2014
Message 3 of 10 (184 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

thanks for your response.

 

Ok to answer your hardware and usage question:

 

NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GE with Intel PM45 chipset (AC82PM45) is correct. running DDR2  2 x 2Gb PC800 Ram

Op sys is Win Vista.

 

It has become a main use all rounder (replaced the desktop) take everywhere pc and a do everything from web use with multiple pages open, (and background programs paused or stopped due to its imitation), to often running Microsoft Flight Sim which likes a higher clock speed CPU and is struggling at times to run at decent frame rates. Loading programs and files faster would also help. Havent really tried other CPU and graphics intensive gaming on it. Cooling pad is used to stop it frying.

Agreed the GPU is liimited anyway - but it's still being used to play back video on hdmi 1080p or VGA 1920x1080 res. Again struggles at times when streaming vids to provide smooth flowing images.

 

So ok - We are limited to DDR2 PC800 ram. (I am not aware of any DDR2 running at 1066Mhz. If it was available I may then also consider CPU's running that speed).... Therefore:

 

if it will support the T5900 2.2Ghz at 800Mhz FSB with 2mb L2 cache, Im thinking it will prob support the highest spec up (which was probably not available at the time the manual was written - same as there is no mention of the T4200)...

This would be the T9XX series up to the T9500 at 2.6Ghz, 800Mhz FSB, 6mb L2 cache.

The T9550 / T9600 run a FSB of 1066Mhz).

 

The thing of concern is whether the bios needs updating as it is currently set to run the Dual core T4200  and these others we're talking about T5900 / T9500 are a slighty different class of cpu (core 2 duo).

 

Lastly of course if a cpu replacement like this to suit is going to cost more than the thing is worth - then it may just be a case of putting up with its limitations and eventually replacing it with a new machine.

 

Thanks again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Top Student
CQ60-216TX
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎07-31-2014
Message 4 of 10 (173 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

Thinking a bit more about this:

If that chipset supports a T9600 at 2.8Ghz with 1066fsb  and 6mb L2 cache (or a T9550 at 2.66Ghz)  there's prob no reason not to use that one. It just means (if it works) it should only run at the 800Mhz fsb of the DDR2 since the mobo cannot accept DDR3 ram.

 

If thats the case and it works on a T9600 then why would it not work with a T9900 (3.067Ghz)  probably the highest clocked up cpu that can be installed given the limitations of the mobo.

Any further ideas or comments are welcome

Thanks again

Master's Graduate
Winos
Posts: 676
Member Since: ‎12-24-2012
Message 5 of 10 (165 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

[ Edited ]

If the bios need updating there are hacked bioses possible,
but please know that this is on your own risk.

 

With the DDR2 at 1066 I mean at dual channel. 2x533
But your PCH has to support it.

 

But can I now your chipset (PCH)?

 

A T9900 huh, My advise. Don't put any money in your laptop unless you do it for study/hobby
Then you need also a better cooling I think.

 

If you compare that T9900 with my backup laptop his cpu you have a nice laptop!
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core2-Duo-T9900-vs-Intel-Core-i5-460M

 

Winos.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
The doors of wisdom are never shut. Benjamin Franklin
&
We must use time wisely and forever realize that the time is always ripe to do right. Nelson Mandela


Top Student
CQ60-216TX
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎07-31-2014
Message 6 of 10 (158 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

Yes I saw the comparison link to the i5 yesterday.. if this works it should become a more useful laptop - as for heat - it is still a 35W cpu with a 45nm Lithography so unless it's clocking at max speed continuously, heat should not become a major issue esp with a fan cooling pad on heavy processing use.

 

The current RAM as I mentioned is 2 x Gb at 800Mhz. No point going slower to 533Mhz.

When you say PCH do you mean Platform controller hub?

South and North Bridge chip Intel AC82PM45 SLB97

http://ark.intel.com/products/35135/Intel-82PM45-Memory-Controller-Hub?wapkw=ac82pm45

 

South Bridge Intel AF82801IBM

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/mobile-computing/mobile-gm45-intel-gs45-gl40-express-chipsets...

 

I had a look at the BIOS and it says it is a BIOS version F. 36

Any idea if a BIOS upgrade is needed and where to source it (and instructions to re prog) would help.

 

I have done BIOS upgrades before on old systems using flash utility tools and understand the risk (which should be less for a laptop also having a battery power source).

Master's Graduate
Winos
Posts: 676
Member Since: ‎12-24-2012
Message 7 of 10 (133 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

Yes there is a point in going slower as long as your pc supports dual channel.
You currently have 800MHz if you hace dual channel the memory will clock down to 533Mhz and then multiplied twice which is 1066Mhz
It is a setting which allocates memory to your cpu (Long story)
and as I can see, your PCH supports 1066Mhz which will make it intresting.
http://ark.intel.com/products/35135/Intel-82PM45-Memory-Controller-Hub?wapkw=ac82pm45

 

 

Winos

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
The doors of wisdom are never shut. Benjamin Franklin
&
We must use time wisely and forever realize that the time is always ripe to do right. Nelson Mandela


Top Student
CQ60-216TX
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎07-31-2014
Message 8 of 10 (116 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

Interesting. So youre saying that even if the board only physically accepts up to 2x2Gb 800Mhz DDR2 RAM, if a CPU (like the T9900) is rated at 3.06Ghz but dependent on a 1066Mhz FSB to achieve this, there may be a possiblity that the system may clock down to dual chan 533MHz and actually run that processor at its rated FSB and therefore internal 3.06Ghz clock speed...?

 

So how can I verify if this may be the case?

 

Also notice the T9900 has a x11.5 multiplier.

And therefore achieves its internal clock speed as follows: 1066Mhz FSB / 4 x 11.5 = 3.06Ghz

http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SL/SLGEE.html

 

The T9500 has a x13 multiplier

And achieves its internal clock speed as follows: 800Mhz FSB /4 x 13 = 2.6Ghz

http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SL/SLAQH.html

http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SL/SLAYX.html

(note: this now opens up possibilites for overclocking the T9500 by upping the FSB with a hacked bios..... but prob not a good idea due to cooling issues in latops)...

 

So if the T9900 will run at its rated 1066 mhz FSB on this mobo it should achieve its rated internal clock speed. If however it is limited to only run at 800Mhz FSB it will only be able to achieve an internal clock speed as follows:

800Mhz FSB / 4 x 11.5 = 2.30Ghz.

Not a good option when a cheaper and slower rated CPU will also perform at this speed.

 

Therefore if the board cannot physically run 1066 Mhz (dual chan x 533Mhz) on the DDR2 RAM, then we are limited to using the T9500 which with its higher mulitplier should perform faster than the T9900 (at 800Mhz FSB).

 

The question now remains how to verify all this and choose the appropriate CPU to use before purchasing as these things can cost around $100 ea to buy (eBay).

 

I noted also in some of my reading somewhere that the Processors named "Dual Core and the Celeron variants" are in fact the same as underperforming "Core 2 Duo" and multiplier factory locked and branded as such.

They are apparently not a different 'type' of CPU.

 

 

 

 

Top Student
CQ60-216TX
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎07-31-2014
Message 9 of 10 (105 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

[ Edited ]

Also to note:

Courtesy of CPU-Z

 

The current 800Mhz RAM is actually dual channel at 400Mhz, so you are not going slower by attempting to run at 533Mhz.

You are actually asking it to run faster.... 533 x 2 (1066Mhz) which it may or may not do?? Most likely from a mobo physical issue trying to get DDR2 Ram to do it or not wired up to support that or the DDR2 RAM itself may not clock up. I dont have any experience with this to know if it would work.

 

As an exercise I used SETFSB to see if I can clock up the FSB on the current T4200 at all and it seems to fail everytime even on a small increase. I used the closest clock gen option I could find (ICS 9LPRS355BGLF) to mine which is ICS 9LPRS355BKL.

 

 

Also - the computer was lagging in loading the page when I was typing previously and I accidently clicked the "solved" button.... which we havent quite done yet.

I've navigated around here to try and remove the 'SOLVED' status and can't see how to do this.

Master's Graduate
Winos
Posts: 676
Member Since: ‎12-24-2012
Message 10 of 10 (72 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario CQ60-216TX CPU upgrade

About your solved. Once you say that it is solved then I have to beleve you. Not just by a solved mark :smileyhappy:

 

I think you should go to the biosmod forum to ask if it supports the t95XX or t99XX

They are far more experienced than me.

 

 

My question. Do you really want to invest 100$ for a "may possible"

or do you want to save it for your next notebook?

 

Considered to the speed you get is nice. considered to the graphic performance you get... I don't know I shouldn't do it.

 

 

 

 

Winos

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
The doors of wisdom are never shut. Benjamin Franklin
&
We must use time wisely and forever realize that the time is always ripe to do right. Nelson Mandela


† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation