Question
Reply
 
Top Student
dm1hdp
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Message 1 of 11 (2,649 Views)

HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Hi All, 

 

I recently purchased a DM1-4108AU. I've succesfully upgraded the ram, and also purchased an Agility 3 SATA III SSD. To my knowledge this SSD should have been compatible, but so far this hasn't proven to be the case. The laptop consistently frezees after running Win7 for 5 minutes. 

 

Does anyone know how this issue may be resolved? I think the issue related to AHCI and IDE, but I cannot unlock the BIOS to change it to AHCI. 

 

Or can anyone shed some light as to which SSDs that are 100% working on this DM1?

 

It would be great to get some good responses, it seems like a lot of people have had difficulties with SSDs and the DM1. Hopefully people can refer to this for their future difficulties. 

 

Cheers.

Top Student
dm1hdp
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Message 2 of 11 (2,616 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Bump... Anyone?

Intern
BizkitsNGravy81
Posts: 36
Member Since: ‎04-22-2012
Message 3 of 11 (2,604 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Crucial M4 series is the only one I know of that works on it and I know because I just stumbled across a forum post about it. When you turn on the machine, you should get a message on the display that says something like F8, F10, or some other key to access the BIOS settings.

Top Student
dm1hdp
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Message 4 of 11 (2,582 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

You can't enter the advanced BIOS to get access to the necessary (AHCI) settings. 

Intern
BizkitsNGravy81
Posts: 36
Member Since: ‎04-22-2012
Message 5 of 11 (2,575 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Try the Escape key and then F10. I believe it is already set to AHCI per the literature but there might be something there for you to try.

Top Student
dm1hdp
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Message 6 of 11 (2,572 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Yeah, I also thought it was set to AHCI, though it doesn't appear to be the case.

 

According to the OCZ forums, people have been successful in getting full speed and functionality from the Agility 3 when switching to AHCI. If it was already set to AHCI there would be no issues. 

 

HP whitelisted the DM1 bios in version F.13 (I think), so I can't get access to the settings. 

Intern
BizkitsNGravy81
Posts: 36
Member Since: ‎04-22-2012
Message 7 of 11 (2,570 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Yes, I have sadly heard elsewhere that HP has begun locking down their notebook products as of late. Complete shame but I do understand why they do it even if it's unacceptable.

Intern
BizkitsNGravy81
Posts: 36
Member Since: ‎04-22-2012
Message 8 of 11 (2,567 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Looks like there's a firmware update for your SSD that might address your particular problem. Try that if you haven't already. You'll have to connect it to another computer to perform the update.

Top Student
dm1hdp
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Message 9 of 11 (2,565 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

Yeah, the SSD already had the latest update. I tried reflashing it but it said 'last firmware installed'. Anyway, I've sold the SSD and am looking for  a replacement that will work :smileyhappy:

Intern
BizkitsNGravy81
Posts: 36
Member Since: ‎04-22-2012
Message 10 of 11 (2,564 Views)

Re: HP DM1-4108AU Solid Sate Drive SSD

According to what their drivers and updates listing says, HP ships the unit with an Intel 320 series SSD, though they may be using custom firmware and only allow their own HP modified SSDs.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation