HP Envy 15 Optical Drive Won't Eject Disc (3131 Views)
Honor Student
ItsNotMyProblem
Message 1 of 7 (3,131 Views)

HP Envy 15 Optical Drive Won't Eject Disc

I tried to burn a DVD and loaded a DVD-R into the optical drive. Burned the disc, now the disc won't eject. I try restarting the computer and going through Computer to eject, and nothing. It sounds like it tries to eject, fails, takes back in the disc and runs it.  This is definitely a problem, considering I'm a filmmaker and need to produce this DVD soon.

Please tell me I don't have to wait for an HP tech to take my computer for a week and a half to fix my brand freaking new notebook that I dished out over a thousand dollars for. This kind of thing is infuriating. And it seems others share this problem. So I wonder why it wasn't fixed.

Thank you in advance for all the help. 

Provost
banhien
Message 2 of 7 (3,127 Views)

Re: HP Envy 15 Optical Drive Won't Eject Disc

Hi,

Have you tried the paper clip trick ? Please watch this:

http://video.about.com/pcsupport/Open-a-Stuck-Drive-on-Your-PC.htm

Good luck.

BH
**Click the KUDOS thumb up on the left to say 'Thanks'**
Make it easier for other people to find solutions by marking a Reply 'Accept as Solution' if it solves your problem.
Honor Student
ItsNotMyProblem
Message 3 of 7 (3,117 Views)

Unfortunately, it's not that kind of situation. I wish it had the small pinhole, but it does not. It doesn't eject a disc tray whatsoever.

Looking at this picture (http://laptop-review.jigsy.com/files/images/hp-envy-17.jpg)

The disc drive is on the side there. Very small and out of the way. At first, I didn't even realize it was a disc drive at all.

So, unfortunately, no. Though I am aware of this pin trick, there is no manual lock release for this drive that I can see whatsoever.
Student
awd23guy
Message 4 of 7 (3,100 Views)

Remove the bottom black cover.

Loosen the top cover buy removing all the black screws under the bottom.