Question
HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed
Replies (23)
Reply
 
Top Student
Crazydad
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎04-17-2014
Message 11 of 24 (749 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

Indeed I did. What the difference is between that and the corsair stuff we both bought I couldn't say. The tech at the store said though that sometimes when no other brand works, g-skill comes through. Not sure why, but it did this time for sure! Laptop works great with it!
Top Student
gelsayed
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎04-16-2014
Message 12 of 24 (746 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

Is it against the forum's policy to feel jelous? :-))

Good for you, man. I'll just wait for Crucial, if it works, people will have 2 options to pick from. If not, we'll all know what to do.
Provost
Huffer
Posts: 11,001
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 13 of 24 (736 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

If I were a gambler I would wager the crucial will not work. I think this is the first time crucial has given us a bum steer but the HP specs and the crucial recommendation just cannot be reconciled. You need DDR3-1066 1.5 volt and crucial is just flat wrong. At least they will stand behind their mistake. 

Top Student
gelsayed
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎04-16-2014
Message 14 of 24 (697 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

[ Edited ]

Appreciate your input. I received the Crucial model you suggested, and it worked like a charm. I'm now posting from an 8-GB Probook :-)

 

Everyone, now you have 2 modules to pick from. Either Crucial (personally purchased and tested)

http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=42AA8CFCA5CA7304

 

,,, or the G-skill tested prior to my post.. Good luck :-)

Top Student
Crazydad
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎04-17-2014
Message 15 of 24 (694 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

I can only come up with them making a different Voltage version for NA and Austrailia. Weird. I guess if for anyone else reading this you have a probook 4520s with 3GB standard, you likely are dealing with 1.35V. If yours has 4GB standard like mine, your likely dealing with 1.5V. The speed however is the same. It's a good thing they make a good machine, cause this has just been plain confusing!
Top Student
gelsayed
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎04-16-2014
Message 16 of 24 (691 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

[ Edited ]

Just to clarify, I bought my Probook in Egypt (I beieve that would be Middle East/North Africa), and took it with me to Australia... Just making sure nobody relies on the region as a point of reference. But your point can be valid still.. Thank you.

Honor Student
FlorinMH
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎05-06-2014
Message 17 of 24 (644 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

Hey Guys,

 

Late in the discussion but hopefully someone can help me with this problem - identical to yours.

 

Same ProBOOK 4520S, Same config. of original RAM: 3 GB (2+1) Samsung. OS: Windows Ultimate Pro

 

Wanted to upgrade to 8gb.

 

1st try: bought 2x 4gb Kingston, same specs as the Samsungs - didn't work - notebook would start but get stuck on the Windows loading page

 

2nd try: bought 2 x4gb Crucial 1.35V, probably the exact type you have and it works for you (gealousy is here alright :smileyhappy:). SAME ISSUE - notebook starts up, can access BIOS (which BTW I updated it to F21 version) but it gets stuck again on the Windows loading page

 

3rd try: bought a 4gb SAMSUNG with IDENTICAL specs as the originals, put it in the notebook: alone at first and then in combos with the 1gb one and another combo with the 2 gb one. 

 

Nothing works...Same issue...and when I go back to the original instalment it works fine but unfortunately it;s only 3 gb.

 

So now I have 2 x 4gb CRUCIAL Rams + 1x4gb SAMSUNG Ram that I can't use at all.

 

Can someone give me a solution or should I start making a neclace out of those RAMs

 

I hope I can get a solution cause up until now I was proud of my HP but having this issue and trying options for 1 month now and simply can't figure it out. Very dissapointed.

 

Thanks

 

FH

Honor Student
FlorinMH
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎05-06-2014
Message 18 of 24 (641 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

meant to say: Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit

 

also, BIOS was seeing the 8 gb of Kinston, 8 gb of Crucial, 6 gb of Samsung and from there NADA

 

Cheers

 

FH

 

Tutor
BillyJa
Posts: 23
Member Since: ‎04-21-2014
Message 19 of 24 (622 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

[ Edited ]

For what it is worth, if HP would just provide some decent documentation on the Notebook motherboards that provide the specifications, a lot of this could be avoided.

 

I can find all sorts of motherboard specifications for HP desktops on the HP support website, but NOTHING on the Notebook motherboards other than what is in the service manuals, and the information in those service manuals is simply not specific enough to provide the information necessary to get what you need.

 

My guess is that they want you to buy the memory from HP, and that is why they dont give motherboard specs that tell you all the details about memory.

 

I have a similar issue with my notebook revolving around the USB 3.0 ports trying to determine whether they support the UASP protocol.  The service manual and user guides for my Notebook say nothing about the USB 3.0 ports other then they are USB 3.0.  The motherboard specs would provide the data I need if I could find it.

Intern
MLange
Posts: 37
Member Since: ‎03-13-2010
Message 20 of 24 (592 Views)

Re: HP Probook 4520s Memory upgrade to 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Unsuccessful and Failed

[ Edited ]

I'm curious. Could you post the CPUID CPU-Z output for SPD please?

 

When the computer turns on and off repeatedly when you put new memory in (before giving up and doing the 3-capslock-flash), it is trying different SPD options (and invariably finding none that it sees as compatible, it seems), hence why it reboots 4 or 5 times.

 

This is my stock RAM: (in a spoiler tag so it doesn't take up half the page)

 

Spoiler
Memory SPD
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
DIMM #                          1
        SMBus address           0x50
        Memory type             DDR3
        Module format           SO-DIMM
        Manufacturer (ID)       Elpida (7F7FFE0000000000)
        Size                    2048 MBytes
        Max bandwidth           PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
        Part number             EBJ21UE8BDS0-DJ-F
        Serial number           31113374
        Manufacturing date      Week 21/Year 10
        Number of banks         8
        Nominal Voltage         1.50 Volts
        EPP                     no
        XMP                     no
        AMP                     no
JEDEC timings table             CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
        JEDEC #1                5.0-5-5-14-19 @ 380 MHz
        JEDEC #2                6.0-6-6-17-23 @ 457 MHz
        JEDEC #3                7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz
        JEDEC #4                8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz
        JEDEC #5                9.0-9-9-24-33 @ 666 MHz
 
DIMM #                          2
        SMBus address           0x52
        Memory type             DDR3
        Module format           SO-DIMM
        Manufacturer (ID)       Elpida (7F7FFE0000000000)
        Size                    2048 MBytes
        Max bandwidth           PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
        Part number             EBJ21UE8BDS0-DJ-F
        Serial number           30113375
        Manufacturing date      Week 21/Year 10
        Number of banks         8
        Nominal Voltage         1.50 Volts
        EPP                     no
        XMP                     no
        AMP                     no
JEDEC timings table             CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
        JEDEC #1                5.0-5-5-14-19 @ 380 MHz
        JEDEC #2                6.0-6-6-17-23 @ 457 MHz
        JEDEC #3                7.0-7-7-20-27 @ 533 MHz
        JEDEC #4                8.0-8-8-22-30 @ 609 MHz
        JEDEC #5                9.0-9-9-24-33 @ 666 MHz
 
DIMM #                          1
SPD registers  
                00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
        00      92 10 0B 03 02 11 00 09 03 52 01 08 0C 00 3E 00
        10      69 78 69 30 69 11 20 89 70 03 3C 3C 00 F0 83 81
        20      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        30      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0F 11 25 00
        40      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        50      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        60      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        70      00 00 00 00 00 02 FE 4B 10 21 31 11 33 74 15 7E
        80      45 42 4A 32 31 55 45 38 42 44 53 30 2D 44 4A 2D
        90      46 20 30 20 02 FE 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        A0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 11
        B0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        C0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        D0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        E0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        F0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 
DIMM #                          2
SPD registers  
                00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
        00      92 10 0B 03 02 11 00 09 03 52 01 08 0C 00 3E 00
        10      69 78 69 30 69 11 20 89 70 03 3C 3C 00 F0 83 81
        20      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        30      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0F 11 25 00
        40      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        50      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        60      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        70      00 00 00 00 00 02 FE 4B 10 21 30 11 33 75 15 7E
        80      45 42 4A 32 31 55 45 38 42 44 53 30 2D 44 4A 2D
        90      46 20 30 20 02 FE 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        A0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 11
        B0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        C0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        D0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        E0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
        F0      00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

 

I have tried Mushkin 996647 and 997066, both without luck. I was going to try the CMSO8GX3M2A1333C9, as Corsair's memory configurator suggested it, but now I'm skeptical. I'll likely try the G.Skill and see what happens.

 

The service manual suggests a 4GB HP SKU of 599092-001 (PC3-10600, 1333Mhz), which has been replaced by 641369-001 (PC3-12800, 1600Mhz). The stepping down of frequency shouldn't be a problem; I just think something's funny in that it's not finding a proper SPD profile to apply.

(If this solved your problem, please click Accept as Solution. If I helped, please consider clicking "Kudos". Thanks!)
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation