Re: HP envy 17 so hot I've got burns on my palm. (624 Views)
Honor Student
SkeletalBat
Message 1 of 9 (1,715 Views)

HP envy 17 so hot I've got burns on my palm.

This is outrageous. i bought my HP Envy a little over a year ago. At first I was quite happy with it but I noticed how it got extremely hot after a few hours of operation. 

I use the laptop for quite GPU intensive programs as I am a game developer. This is also the reason I bought this laptop as it had really good specs.

Lately I've spent quite a lot of time in front of the computer (this is how I make a living). Now I actually get burns on my palms.

Is there any way HP can help me or did they screw me over when I bought this machine?

And before you ask. yes, I have all the latest drivers and firmware. Also did system restore. Nothing helps. The only one to blame is the actual engineers at HP as they haven't made sure this machine can cool itself properly.

Honor Student
SkeletalBat
Message 2 of 9 (1,687 Views)

Re: HP envy 17 so hot I've got burns on my palm.

Any help from HP?

Forgot to mention. I've tried using a laptop cooler, but that did not help.
Student
Neuteboomt
Message 3 of 9 (1,667 Views)

I just finished up taking my Envy 17 apart and cleaning out the dust (I have had it since last January). Running quick virus scan and the tem is at 61 degrees Celsius. The real test will be when I watch Netflix. That is when I see the pickup to the high 80s. If this does not fix the issue then I will try cleaning the heat sink connection to the CPU and GPU and apply new thermal paste

Honor Student
SkeletalBat
Message 4 of 9 (1,662 Views)

Definately the last time I buy any products from HP and I can't say that I will recommend anything from them if anyone were to ask me.

Student
carolcoventry
Message 5 of 9 (1,530 Views)