Maximum RAM allowed in a dv6700 with T8100 Processor (2323 Views)
Reply
Student
Jsmooth1331
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-08-2009
Message 1 of 4 (2,323 Views)

Maximum RAM allowed in a dv6700 with T8100 Processor

[ Edited ]

Hey,

 

For some reason my dv6700 came with 3 GB of DDR2 RAM installed for a 32-bit Vista version (yeah, it can't handle 4) but I'm wondering first off why? The T8100 is dual-channel for one thing, plus it is a 64-bit processor, so they should have had it ready for an upgrade in the first place.

 

But anyway, I'm upgrading the 1 GB stick to a 2 GB stick because I'm now running Windows 7 Professional (obtained through MSDNA Academic Alliance) and I've been searching but can't seem to find the maxiumum amount of memory supported by my system.

 

Thanks.

Message Edited by Jsmooth1331 on 10-08-2009 08:12 PM
Honor Student
Ratius
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-10-2009
Message 2 of 4 (2,290 Views)

Re: Maximum RAM allowed in a dv6700 with T8100 Processor

As far as I know, Vista can handle 6GB of RAM.
Dean
Huffer
Posts: 9,158
Registered: ‎11-12-2008
Message 3 of 4 (2,297 Views)

Re: Maximum RAM allowed in a dv6700 with T8100 Processor

No Vista 32 can handle 3 gigs or so and Vista 64 can handle more than you can really install. The dv6700 maxes at 4 gigs or 2 x 2 gig modules.
Honor Student
Ratius
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-10-2009
Message 4 of 4 (2,248 Views)

Re: Maximum RAM allowed in a dv6700 with T8100 Processor

Yep, I found out the same... sorry for wrong info.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation