Question
Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ
Replies (788)
Reply
 
Tutor
siskorhodes
Posts: 10
Member Since: ‎07-20-2009
Message 81 of 789 (9,110 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

Hi siskorhodes,


siskorhodes wrote:

hi here is data from cpu-z for my latop, could you please tell me which cpu i could use as upgrades for my laptop (G60-213EM)...

 

 Name   Intel Celeron T1600
 Codename  Merom
 Specification  Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T1600  @ 1.66GHz
 Package (platform ID) Socket P (478) (0x7)
 CPUID   6.F.D
 Extended CPUID  6.F
 Core Stepping  M0
 Technology  65 nm
 Core Speed  1662.6 MHz
 Multiplier x FSB 10.0 x 166.3 MHz
 Rated Bus speed  665.0 MHz
 Stock frequency  1666 MHz
 Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T
 L1 Data cache  2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
 L1 Instruction cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
 L2 cache  1024 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
 FID/VID Control  no

 Northbridge   Intel GL40 rev. 07
Southbridge   Intel 82801IM (ICH9-M) rev. 03
Memory Type   DDR2
Memory Size   3072 MBytes
Channels   Dual, (Symmetric)

 

bios = F52A


There are quite a few

Intel Core2 Duo (3MB L2 cache) P8400,  2.26 GHz processor

Intel Core2 Duo (3MB L2 cache) P8600,  2.4   Ghz processor

Intel Core2 Duo (3MB L2 cache) P7350,  2.0   GHz processor

Intel Core2 Duo (6MB L2 cache) T9400,  2.53  GHz processor

 

Those are the more robust and speedier compatible and supported processors for your laptop. There are also four Pentium processors as well. I doubt that you would be interested in them. An upgrade to the Intel Core2 Duo (6MB L2 cache) T9400,  2.53  GHz processor would give you the most improvement for your money. It is the amount of L2 cache that really makes that one stand out from the group.

 

regards,

erico 

 

just wondered if by upgrading with a t9400 cpu would there be any cooling issues as i noticed it runs a little hotter than my current cpu, i do use an akasa cooling pad all the time but i wouldnt have thought that would cool it enough given the extra heat generated by the t9400...

thanks

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,933
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 82 of 789 (9,089 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ


siskorhodes wrote:

Hi siskorhodes,


siskorhodes wrote:

hi here is data from cpu-z for my latop, could you please tell me which cpu i could use as upgrades for my laptop (G60-213EM)...

 

 Name   Intel Celeron T1600
 Codename  Merom
 Specification  Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T1600  @ 1.66GHz
 Package (platform ID) Socket P (478) (0x7)
 CPUID   6.F.D
 Extended CPUID  6.F
 Core Stepping  M0
 Technology  65 nm
 Core Speed  1662.6 MHz
 Multiplier x FSB 10.0 x 166.3 MHz
 Rated Bus speed  665.0 MHz
 Stock frequency  1666 MHz
 Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T
 L1 Data cache  2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
 L1 Instruction cache 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
 L2 cache  1024 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
 FID/VID Control  no

 Northbridge   Intel GL40 rev. 07
Southbridge   Intel 82801IM (ICH9-M) rev. 03
Memory Type   DDR2
Memory Size   3072 MBytes
Channels   Dual, (Symmetric)

 

bios = F52A


There are quite a few

Intel Core2 Duo (3MB L2 cache) P8400,  2.26 GHz processor

Intel Core2 Duo (3MB L2 cache) P8600,  2.4   Ghz processor

Intel Core2 Duo (3MB L2 cache) P7350,  2.0   GHz processor

Intel Core2 Duo (6MB L2 cache) T9400,  2.53  GHz processor

 

Those are the more robust and speedier compatible and supported processors for your laptop. There are also four Pentium processors as well. I doubt that you would be interested in them. An upgrade to the Intel Core2 Duo (6MB L2 cache) T9400,  2.53  GHz processor would give you the most improvement for your money. It is the amount of L2 cache that really makes that one stand out from the group.

 

regards,

erico 

 

just wondered if by upgrading with a t9400 cpu would there be any cooling issues as i noticed it runs a little hotter than my current cpu, i do use an akasa cooling pad all the time but i wouldnt have thought that would cool it enough given the extra heat generated by the t9400...

thanks


As your laptop does not have the NVIDIA chipset, the upgrade shouldn't have any cooling issues. I have not seen any reported problems with that processor as an upgrade. It is an option that can be configured when purchased before delivery. It is smart of you to use the cooling pad. Not enough people seem to realize the advantages of using one for comfort's sake.
regards,
erico 

 





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Honor Student
dStSb
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-13-2009
Message 83 of 789 (9,064 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

Hi, could someone help me with upgrading CPU & RAM. Here is laptop information:

 

HP COMPAQ Presario CQ50-100EM - Windows 7

 

Motherboard: Wistron 360A

Chipset: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M 

Processor: AMD Sempron SI-40 - 2 GHz - Socket S1 (638)

BIOS: HP F.54

Memory:

 

Memory SPD
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

DIMM #                1
    SMBus address        0x50
    Memory type        DDR2
    Module format        SO-DIMM
    Manufacturer (ID)    MOSEL (4000000000000000)
    Size            1024 MBytes
    Max bandwidth        PC2-5300 (333 MHz)
    Part number        V916765G24QCFW-F5
    Serial number        0A0A0E9A
    Manufacturing date    Week 19/Year 08
    Number of banks        2

 

 

Which processors I can put in? Looking for dual-core. Good value for money. And I have some questions about memory. Is maximum RAM 4 GB( 2 x 2 ?)? How many slots are there? 2? As I understand there is one 1 GB stick inside.Can I add 2 GB  to this 1 GB? Does this motherboard support faster memories?

 

Thank you for help =)

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,933
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 84 of 789 (9,039 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

Hi,


dStSb wrote:

Hi, could someone help me with upgrading CPU & RAM. Here is laptop information:

 

HP COMPAQ Presario CQ50-100EM - Windows 7

 

Motherboard: Wistron 360A

Chipset: NVIDIA GeForce 8200M 

Processor: AMD Sempron SI-40 - 2 GHz - Socket S1 (638)

BIOS: HP F.54

Memory:

 

Memory SPD
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

DIMM #                1
    SMBus address        0x50
    Memory type        DDR2
    Module format        SO-DIMM
    Manufacturer (ID)    MOSEL (4000000000000000)
    Size            1024 MBytes
    Max bandwidth        PC2-5300 (333 MHz)
    Part number        V916765G24QCFW-F5
    Serial number        0A0A0E9A
    Manufacturing date    Week 19/Year 08
    Number of banks        2

 

 

Which processors I can put in? Looking for dual-core. Good value for money. And I have some questions about memory. Is maximum RAM 4 GB( 2 x 2 ?)? How many slots are there? 2? As I understand there is one 1 GB stick inside.Can I add 2 GB  to this 1 GB? Does this motherboard support faster memories?

 

Thank you for help =)


 

CPU upgrades listed by HP as options making them guaranteed compatible and supported by BIOS

 

AMD Turion Ultra Dual-Core ZM-80  2.1Ghz processor (35W, 2 MB L2 cache) 

AMD Turion Ultra Dual-Core ZM-82  2.2Ghz processor (35W, 2 MB L2 cache)   ***This one has the best specs out of the group***

AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core    QL-60  1.9Ghz processor (35W, 512 KB L2 cache)   

AMD Turion Ultra Dual-Core RM-70  2.0Ghz processor (35W, 1 MB L2 cache)  

 

Memory upgrades 

 

 Use this web search result. I recommend installing only guaranteed compatible RAM from major memory makers. There are two DIMM slots. Remove the original stick and install two( 2 GB) or (4GB) memory modules. Maximum memory supported by the BIOS is 8GB. 8GB upgrade is only worthwhile if you are using a 64-bit OS or have set up (this is what I do wih my extra memory :smileywink: ) a huge RAMDisk for temp files of web browser cache.

 

I believe that covers all the questions that you asked. 

 

regards,

erico 

 

 





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Honor Student
dStSb
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-13-2009
Message 85 of 789 (9,018 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

[ Edited ]

erico thank you for fast answer. I have one last question about memory. First post in this thread says:

 


 

4 ) The memory modules must be the same size (256 MB / 512 MB /1 GB or 2 GB) 2

and 4GB modules will not operate in all laptops. Check HP's stated maximum

memory in the specifications for your product in the HP laptop specific support

page.

There are exceptions for this rule of thumb. Laptops with AMD chip sets are sold

with different size modules installed. ( 1 x 1GB and one 2GB memory stick)


 

So can I just add to my 1 GB stick one 2 GB ( PC2-5300 ) stick? And would it work as in total 3 GB? And would my 1 GB stick be compatible with for example Kingston/ PNY memories?  

Message Edited by dStSb on 11-14-2009 10:12 AM
Provost
erico
Posts: 25,933
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 86 of 789 (9,010 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ


dStSb wrote:

erico thank you for fast answer. I have one last question about memory. First post in this thread says:


4 ) The memory modules must be the same size (256 MB / 512 MB /1 GB or 2 GB) 2

and 4GB modules will not operate in all laptops. Check HP's stated maximum

memory in the specifications for your product in the HP laptop specific support

page.

There are exceptions for this rule of thumb. Laptops with AMD chip sets are sold

with different size modules installed. ( 1 x 1GB and one 2GB memory stick)


 

So can I just add to my 1 GB stick one 2 GB ( PC2-5300 ) stick? And would it work as in total 3 GB? And would my 1 GB stick be compatible with for example Kingston/ PNY memories?  

Message Edited by dStSb on 11-14-2009 10:12 AM

If your 1GB stick has the same memory chips and SPD file values  (in the eeprom on the memory module) as the other memory modules then it should work. The caveat is that it probably is not the case, but It is worth a try.
SPD file contains the primary and secondary memory timings and voltage requirements. 
regards,
erico 

 





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Honor Student
dStSb
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-13-2009
Message 87 of 789 (8,986 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

THank you again =) I started looking for memories. I let everyone know when I find something an put in.
Tutor
Asela
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎11-13-2009
Message 88 of 789 (8,978 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

[ Edited ]

Hi Erico, 

 

I bought a Compaq CQ61-314TU laptop with Intel Celeron processor. this model came without inbuilt Bluetooth. recently i found in eBay that there's a Internal module that matches my laptop model. i want to confirm whether this possible or not? will my Laptop capable of having a internal Bluetooth module? 

 

- Asela

Message Edited by Asela on 11-15-2009 06:09 AM
Provost
erico
Posts: 25,933
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 89 of 789 (8,972 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

Hi,


Asela wrote:

Hi Erico, 

 

I bought a Compaq CQ61-314TU laptop with Intel Celeron processor. this model came without inbuilt Bluetooth. recently i found in eBay that there's a Internal module that matches my laptop model. i want to confirm whether this possible or not? will my Laptop capable of having a internal Bluetooth module? 

 

- Asela

Message Edited by Asela on 11-15-2009 06:09 AM

 

Yes it is possible, but with a caveat. The caveat is that HP has not listed which particular CQ61 models have the interfaces on the motherboard.

 

I recommend that you not try the route with the internal model.

 

You would also need to purchase a different upper housing and connector for the housing to have the bluetooth indication led and possibly a system board. (expensive!).

 

You would be better off purchasing an external USB bluetooth dongle. They are not very expensive and they do work. That way you would avoid the expense and difficulty in location the parts.

 

There would also be major disassembly required with attempting to install the upper enclosure and connector.

 

regards,
erico 

 





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Tutor
Asela
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎11-13-2009
Message 90 of 789 (8,967 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

Thanks for the quick reply. that's exactly what i wanted to hear. understand about the disassembly process. (got my hands with the service manual). i think it's better to settle with external dongle rather than messing with my new laptop.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation