Question
Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ
Replies (788)
Reply
 
Tutor
Abstraks
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎03-31-2014
Message 781 of 789 (847 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket_S1_(S1g4).html

here you maybe found some info about your question cpu upgrade

bios update, it's always the best thing to do upgrading your bios to the newest

about your ram memory it's look like you have a shared memory with your gpu

(usely it's like that with a onboard gpu)

maybe for future questions about ram upgrade's

http://computer-memory-upgrade-review.toptenreviews.com/

here you can found some info about it

 

i hope i have answer some questions were you can found info about upgrade

Please click “Accept as Solution ” if you feel my post solved your issue.

Click the “Kudos Thumbs Up" on the left to say “Thanks” for helping!
Tutor
Abstraks
Posts: 9
Member Since: ‎03-31-2014
Message 782 of 789 (845 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

Computer: Hewlett-Packard HP Pavilion 15 Notebook PC
CPU: Intel Core i7-3632QM (Ivy Bridge-MB SV, E1)
2200 MHz (22.00x100.0) @ 2895 MHz (29.00x99.8)
Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 1970
Chipset: Intel HM76 (Panther Point)
Memory: 8192 MBytes @ 798 MHz, 11.0-11-11-28
- 4096 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - Hynix (Hyundai) HMT351S6EFR8A-PB
- 4096 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - Micron Tech. 16KTF51264HZ-1G6M1
Graphics: Intel Ivy Bridge-MB GT2 - Integrated Graphics Controller [E1/L1/N0/P0] [Hewlett-Packard]
Intel HD Graphics 4000, 2112 MB
Graphics: ATI/AMD Radeon HD 8600M Series (Sun XT) [Hewlett-Packard]
ATI/AMD Radeon HD 8600M Series, 2112 MB
Drive: KINGSTON SV300S37A120G, 117.2 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s
Drive: HGST HTS545050A7E380, 488.4 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s
Sound: Intel Panther Point PCH - High Definition Audio Controller [C1]
Network: Ralink RT3290 802.11n Wireless Network Adapter
Network: RealTek Semiconductor RTL8101/2/3 Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Network: 802.11n USB Wireless LAN Card
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate (x64) Build 7601

 

you can see i have installed 2 hdd: KINGSTON SV300S37A120G is a ssd (system drive)

                                                 HTS545050A7E380 orginal hdd (i put this in place of my dvd-rom drive, i never use

 

and it's working fine

i have no idea what the laptop manual has to say about it

 

i have in the past tested many wifi adaptors on my laptop i had at that time and never had any problem what so ever just instal it with the right driver

Please click “Accept as Solution ” if you feel my post solved your issue.

Click the “Kudos Thumbs Up" on the left to say “Thanks” for helping!
Top Student
nutzmoho
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎07-16-2014
Message 783 of 789 (787 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

thanks for this :catembarrassed:

Tutor
TheMolesRevenge
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎07-10-2014
Message 784 of 789 (736 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

What is the best CPU i can put in a Pavillion dv6 with the following motherboard part - 659151-001, please?

 

Student
WESTANBUL
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-05-2014
Message 785 of 789 (658 Views)

Re: Presario V3239TU processor upgrade

Hi i have got dv2000 wistron 30b2 same system what max upgrade this system??? max cpu and ram support ????? mhz????

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,948
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 786 of 789 (477 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

[ Edited ]

Mariusica wrote:

Hi Erico,

 

Lennon's problem

 

I also have a Compaq Presario CQ60 and I have the same problem as Lennon but there is a tiny difference between our laptops and i'm not sure if the Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T9400 (6M Cache, 2.53 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB) 

 ,that you said it compatible, it's also compatible with my laptop and i can upgrade to it

 

DMI

------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. DMI BIOS 

  • vendor     Hewlett-Packard
  • version    F.24  // The version is different 
  • date         08/13/2008

 

2. DMI System Information

  • manufacturer    Hewlett-Packard
  • product                Compaq Presario CQ60 Notebook PC
  • version                 F.24
  • serial                    [Edited for Personal Information]
  • UUID                     {204F1B64-7580-DD11-ABD3-E0563B65BA6B}

 

3. DMI Baseboard

  • vendor     Wistron
  • model      3612
  • revision   09.41   // Another difference
  • serial        [Edited for Personal Information]

4. DMI System Enclosure

  • manufacturer     Wistron
  • chassis type        Notebook
  • chassis serial      Chassis Serial Number

 

I also have a different processor: 

 

 

Processor 1 ID = 0

  •     Number of cores      2 (max 2)
  •     Number of threads      2 (max 2)
  •     Name                 Intel Pentium T3200
  •     Codename         Merom
  •     Specification        Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T3200 @ 2.00GHz
  •     Package (platform ID)           Socket P (478) (0x7)
  •     CPUID            6.F.D
  •     Extended CPUID       6.F
  •     Core Stepping            M0
  •     Technology             65 nm
  •     Core Speed             997.4 MHz
  •     Multiplier x Bus Speed             6.0 x 166.2 MHz
  •     Rated Bus speed                  664.9 MHz
  •     Stock frequency                     2000 MHz
  •     Instructions sets                   MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T
  •     L1 Data cache                  2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
  •     L1 Instruction cache         2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
  •     L2 cache                           1024 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
  •     FID/VID Control              yes
  •     FID range          6.0x - 12.0x
  •     Max VID             1.250 V

 

The chipset is the same

 

Chipset
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Northbridge       Intel GL40 rev. 07
  • Southbridge        Intel 82801IM (ICH9-M) rev. 03
  • Memory Type      DDR2
  • Memory Size        2 GBytes
  • Channels Dual,       (Symmetric)
  • Memory Frequency       332.5 MHz (1:2)
  • CAS# latency (CL)          5.0
  • RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD)       5
  • RAS# Precharge (tRP)          5
  • Cycle Time (tRAS)       15
  • MCHBAR I/O Base address    0x0FED10000
  • MCHBAR I/O Size                 4096

 

 

Thank you very,very much and i apreciate your work :smileyhappy:,

 

Marius


Hi. Thanks. 

Unless you provide the complete product name and number, I really can't say what is and what is not compatible with your notebook with certainty.

 

Method #1: If the notebook will boot into Windows, you can retrieve your Product Number by pressing Fn + Esc key.

Method #2:
Remove the battery and look in the compartment where the battery was installed. You should see a Service tag with printed part number and a product name. Please post the p/n (with all alphanumeric characters) here. 








Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Student
greyravi
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎09-06-2014
Message 787 of 789 (417 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

I have an hp pavilion g4 its hard disk seems faliure I want to replaced it but I missed my warranty card now what I can do?
Provost
erico
Posts: 25,948
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 788 of 789 (407 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

You do not need a warranty card if your notebook is still in warranty. Your notebook comes with a free one year warranty.

 

Check your warranty status Here. 

 

If your warranty is still in effect then contact HP fo arrange to have a warranty replacement hard disk delivered to you or to have your notebook sent in to a Service Center to have it done there.





Help others by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Honor Student
RaccoonHD
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎10-22-2014
Message 789 of 789 (63 Views)

Re: Notebook (Laptop) Upgrade FAQ

Hello I want to upgrade my amd apu to something with better graphics rather then the R2 and i really don't want to have to overclock my product is the HP 15 G070NR e1 series apu can you please give me possible upgrade options if there is any i would greatly appreciate it thanks in advance (:

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation