Question
Reply
 
Top Student
BigBSTRD
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎01-25-2013
Message 1 of 6 (1,545 Views)

Optiarc DvD RW AD-7561S does not work

[ Edited ]

Hello everyone. I have recently installed Windows 8 and I bought Borderlands today. When I wanted to install the game my Optiarc DvD RW AD-75615 did not recognize the disk at all. It does load for a minute but then nothing happens.

When I click on the drive it ejects and says that I need to enter a disk and when I do that the same thing happens. I have also tried normal CD's, like, empty ones etc.  I've already deleted the drivers and stuff. Restarts etc.

 

Please help me. I really want to play this game.

 

 

My specs:

HP Pavilion Dv7

OS: Windows 8 Pro  

Processor: AMD Athlon X2Dual-Core QL-64 2.10 GHz

RAM: 3.00 GB

System: Type 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor

 

Thank you in advance

Regents Professor
lions99
Posts: 5,461
Member Since: ‎09-16-2011
Message 2 of 6 (1,518 Views)

Re: Optiarc DvD RW AD-7561S does not work

 

Hello, BigBSTRD.

 

I see that you're having an issue with the Optical drive. Looks to me this could go either way as a hardware or software issue. 

 

Before we get going could you please provide the full model name of the notebook you have?

 

This will give me the opportunity to provide you with the correct links and downloads for the issue.

 

Has the drive ever worked for you since you upgraded to Windows 8?

 

THX

Top Student
BigBSTRD
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎01-25-2013
Message 3 of 6 (1,511 Views)

Re: Optiarc DvD RW AD-7561S does not work

[ Edited ]

I have and HP Pavilion dv7-1140eg (Pavilion dv7-1000 Serie)

The shiny one :smileytongue:

 

Oh and I don't really know actually. Because I never used it before. And I really do not want to downgrade to Windows 7

I really like this OS

Regents Professor
lions99
Posts: 5,461
Member Since: ‎09-16-2011
Message 4 of 6 (1,507 Views)

Re: Optiarc DvD RW AD-7561S does not work

 

OK, I would suggest cleaning the drive with some type of CD/DVD drive cleaning kit . You can purchase this at your local store (Wal-Mart/Target). This kit has a disk that you will need to insert inside of the drive to clean it.

 

If that doesn't work I suggest replacing the Drive. Either the drive is bad or it's just too dirty for it to read anything. 

Here is the Manual which will show you how to remove the drive on page 57.

 

If you replace the drive, I suggest replacing it with one of these from the list. Reason because it’s supported and I don't want you to purchase a drive and have trouble with the dimensions when you try and install it.

 

Capture.PNG

 

If you have any more questions please let me know. 

 

THX

 

 

Top Student
BigBSTRD
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎01-25-2013
Message 5 of 6 (1,506 Views)

Re: Optiarc DvD RW AD-7561S does not work

Your help is very much appreciated.
Thanks for the effort.

Regents Professor
lions99
Posts: 5,461
Member Since: ‎09-16-2011
Message 6 of 6 (1,505 Views)

Re: Optiarc DvD RW AD-7561S does not work

No problem. If you have anything else please let me know.

 

THX

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation