Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Murry5
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-06-2009
Message 1 of 9 (3,188 Views)

Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

I recently Installed (2 x 2gb) G.Skill Ram, and I have Windows 7 64-bit, and this is what it is giving me.

 

OS Name    Microsoft Windows 7 Professional
Version    6.1.7600 Build 7600
Other OS Description     Not Available
OS Manufacturer    Microsoft Corporation
System Name    STEVEN-PC
System Manufacturer    Hewlett-Packard
System Model    HP Pavilion dv6000 (RD869AV#ABA)
System Type    x64-based PC
Processor    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU         T7200  @ 2.00GHz, 2000 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date    Hewlett-Packard F.2D, 11/26/2008
SMBIOS Version    2.4
Windows Directory    C:\Windows
System Directory    C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device    \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale    United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer    Version = "6.1.7600.16385"
User Name    Steven-PC\Steven
Time Zone    Eastern Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)    4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory    3.00 GB
Available Physical Memory    1.71 GB
Total Virtual Memory    5.99 GB
Available Virtual Memory    4.77 GB
Page File Space    3.00 GB
Page File    C:\pagefile.sys
 

 

Basically, its only recognizing 3gb of the RAM, what is causing this and is there anything I can do about it?

Honor Student
Murry5
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-06-2009
Message 2 of 9 (3,160 Views)

Re: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

Bump
Student
ToddnSeattle
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎11-20-2009
Message 3 of 9 (3,094 Views)

Re: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

[ Edited ]

I am having the exact same issue.  Just updated to 4GB of RAM and updated the BIOS to F.2D and Windows 7 Pro 64bit is recognizing that I have 4GB installed but only 3GB is usable.  A remedy to this would be highly appreciated.  I fear that this might just be a limitation of the hardware..

 

 

Message Edited by ToddnSeattle on 11-20-2009 08:10 PM
Honor Student
Murry5
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎11-06-2009
Message 4 of 9 (3,079 Views)

Re: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

When I run dxdiag it shoot this for my graphics:

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
          Card name: NVIDIA GeForce Go 7400
       Manufacturer: NVIDIA
          Chip type: GeForce Go 7400
           DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
         Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_01D8&SUBSYS_30BB103C&REV_A1
     Display Memory: 1400 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 121 MB
      Shared Memory: 1279 MB
       Current Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60Hz)
       Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
      Monitor Model: unknown
         Monitor Id: SEC3345
        Native Mode: 1280 x 800(p) (60.004Hz)
        Output Type: Internal
        Driver Name: nvd3dum,nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2um, nvwgf2umx.dll
Driver File Version: 7.15.0011.7967 (English)
     Driver Version: 7.15.11.7967
        DDI Version: 9Ex
       Driver Model: WDDM 1.0
  Driver Attributes: Final Retail
   Driver Date/Size: 3/6/2009 11:52:00, 5976064 bytes
        WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
  Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-4298-11CF-936C-B01001C2CA35}
          Vendor ID: 0x10DE
          Device ID: 0x01D8
          SubSys ID: 0x30BB103C
        Revision ID: 0x00A1
 Driver Strong Name: oem4.inf:NVIDIA.Mfg.NTamd64.6.0:nv_G7x:7.15.11.7967:smileytongue:ci\ven_10de&dev_01d8&subsys_30bb103c
     Rank Of Driver: 00F60001
        Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeVC1_B ModeWMV9_B ModeVC1_A ModeWMV9_A


What I'm concerned about is that it has121MB of dedicated memory, which is normal and right, but the1279MB of shared memory, which I have a feeling is where the RAM is allocated.

However...

My computer doesn't run like it has 1400MB available of graphic memory. I understand that not all of it would be used for that, but wouldn't I notice some sort of graphical boost if there were that much memory available for the card to use?

 

I play a lot of games, and I usually have to play them all on the lowest settings to get a smooth, usable framerate.

 

I play stuff like Left 4 Dead (1 and 2), Team Fortress 2 etc... And my computer can't even run Assassins Creed, or anything with a heavy fog effect.

Student
Nater3kgtVR4
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎11-30-2009
Message 5 of 9 (3,011 Views)

Re: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

Has there been a resolution found for this yet? I am running into the same issue. I have searched high and low and have not been able to figure it out.
Honor Student
Axl-Jay
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎02-01-2010
Message 6 of 9 (2,656 Views)

Re: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

I got the same problem on a DV6276EA with a fresh installation of Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit

 

4,00 GB Installed

3,00 GB Usable

 

I've updated the BIOS to the latest release (F.2D) with Winflash software from Hp support site.

 

I hope we will solve our problem.

Honor Student
Axl-Jay
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎02-01-2010
Message 7 of 9 (2,628 Views)

Re: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

:smileytongue:UP

Intern
tcsenter
Posts: 52
Member Since: ‎11-22-2008
Message 8 of 9 (2,429 Views)

Re: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

In order to expose the entire 4GB RAM to the OS, the system hardware must actually support MORE THAN 4GB address space and implement a feature called memory remapping or memory hoisting.  The Intel 945 chipset can decode 4GB of DRAM but there is no way for the BIOS to expose all 4GB to the OS because the chipset is limited to a maximum 4GB address space and does not support memory remapping.   The lost memory address space is reserved to all your hardware in order to function, and thus cannot be used for addressing RAM (two different things cannot utilize the same physical address).   This is a hard limit of the Intel chipset.

Google "intel 945 chipset, 4GB RAM, limit" and you'll get a ton of hits on this issue.  e.g.  http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c00667512/c00667512.pdf

A BIOS update with better memory addressing code *might* be able to free up an additional hundred megabytes or two, but you'll need a new chipset/mobo/system to utilize any more than ~3.25 GB "ish" RAM.

Top Student
boreld
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎01-31-2013
Message 9 of 9 (411 Views)

HiRe: Problems with RAM upgrade on a dv6200 CTO (Service Tag EZ796AV)

Hi,

 

your post is old but i m now facing this problem

 

i have a netbook HP dv9217ea with chipset i945PM

MAX RAM supported : 4 Go

my actual BIOS is:  HP F14 from 09 january 2007

 

i have 2x2 Go BUT win7 x 64 shows me i have only 3 Go installed (not 4 Go installed and 3 Go usable)

the BIOS is reconizing 3 Go (3072 Mb) without a feature for MEMORY REMAPING

 

so by reading you i m not sure i can get 4 Go recognized, even if all is not specific fot the OS...

 

can the last BIOS F.2E from the 12 april 2010 can solve the problem ? does this BIOS allows MEMORY REMAP ?

 

i m not good in all those considerations...so if you can help me, it will be a great pleasure to read you

 

Thanks

David

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation