Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit? (5040 Views)
Reply
Teacher
JohnPhoenix
Posts: 70
Member Since: ‎05-04-2010
Message 1 of 11 (5,040 Views)

Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

[ Edited ]

The specs for this machine is here:

 

 http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01980785&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&lc=en&dlc=en...

 

There is a company selling ram for this model that says with 32 bit the max is 4 gigs and the max with 64 bit is 8 gigs. Is this company wrong or are the HP specs page wrong?

 

This is the page that says 8 gigs will work for 64 bit in this machine.

 

http://www.satech.com/compaq-presario-notebook-memory-compaq-presario-cq61-series-memory-hp-compaq-p...

 

Also the sticky in this forum about Upgrades says:

 

1 ) The bus speed of the new modules should be the highest speed that the

specifications of your notebook state. Do not mix modules of different bus

speeds. Mixing bus speeds results in defaulting to lowest speed and a possibly

non operational memory module configuration. "

 

 

But as you see.. my specs page does NOT list the memory bus speeds!

 

If the max bus speed are not listed in the specs page, then how can I purchase any memory at all?   I cannot !

 

How Crazy is this? !

Grad Student
nascar4u
Posts: 493
Member Since: ‎10-12-2009
Message 2 of 11 (5,031 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

heres you specs:

Product NameCQ61-411WM
Product NumberWA980UA#ABA
Microprocessor2.1GHz AMD Sempron Processor for Notebook PCs M120
Microprocessor Cache512KB L2 Cache
Memory2GB
Memory Max4096MB
Video GraphicsATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Graphics
Video Memory128MB Display Cache Memory (up to 1022MB total graphics memory )
Hard Drive250GB (7200RPM)
Multimedia DriveLightScribe SuperMulti 8X DVD±R/RW with Double Layer Support
Display15.6" Diagonal High-Definition HP BrightView Widescreen Display (1366x768)
Fax/ModemHigh speed 56k modem
Network CardIntegrated 10/100 Ethernet LAN
Wireless Connectivity
  • 802.11b/g/n WLAN
Sound
  • Altec Lansing
Keyboard101-key compatible with full-size keyboard with integrated numeric keypad
Pointing DeviceTouch Pad with On/Off button and dedicated vertical scroll Up/Down pad
External Ports
  • 3 Universal Serial Bus (USB) 2.0
  • 1 Headphone out
  • 1 microphone-in
  • 1 VGA (15-pin)
  • 1 RJ-11 (modem)
  • 1 RJ -45 (LAN)
Other Devices 
Dimensions14.89" (L) x 9.93" (D) x 1.38" (min H) -1.62" (max H)
Weight5.90 lbs
Security
  • Kensington MicroSaver lock slot
  • Power-on password
  • Accepts 3rd party security lock devices
Power
  • 65W AC Adapter
  • 6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery

 

 

4 gigs is all the motherboard will handle

click Kudos to say thanks if I helped
Teacher
JohnPhoenix
Posts: 70
Member Since: ‎05-04-2010
Message 3 of 11 (5,027 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

[ Edited ]

I already knew this and posted it in my message.. see the link to my specs?

 

My quest6ion was could the specs be wrong?

 

Next time read the post better.. you answered something I already said I knew. LOL

Student
Paran
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-05-2009
Message 4 of 11 (4,956 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

According to the Kingston Memory site, the HP specs are correct unless Kingston got those specs from HP (whether they are right or wrong). Also, Kingston list the modules at 800MHz. You can download a program, SiSoftware Sandra,  that can analyze your system, including memory:

 

 

Kingston Memory lists the max at 4 GB, so 2 RAM modules of 2 GB apiece will total the 4 GB that your laptop can handle:

http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/modelsinfo.asp?id=1&SysID=62732&mfr=HP/Compaq&model...

 

Scroll to the bottom of the page to see the specs and bank schema.

 

 

I could not find the memory at the Corsair Memory and Mushkin Memory websites, nor at Crucial Memory but you could run their system scanner to see if it can determine/suggest an upgrade solution for your laptop.

Provost
erico
Posts: 24,722
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 5 of 11 (4,946 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

HI,

 


JohnPhoenix wrote:

The specs for this machine is here:

 

 http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01980785&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&lc=en&dlc=en...

 

There is a company selling ram for this model that says with 32 bit the max is 4 gigs and the max with 64 bit is 8 gigs. Is this company wrong or are the HP specs page wrong?

 

This is the page that says 8 gigs will work for 64 bit in this machine.

 

http://www.satech.com/compaq-presario-notebook-memory-compaq-presario-cq61-series-memory-hp-compaq-p...

 

Also the sticky in this forum about Upgrades says:

 

1 ) The bus speed of the new modules should be the highest speed that the

specifications of your notebook state. Do not mix modules of different bus

speeds. Mixing bus speeds results in defaulting to lowest speed and a possibly

non operational memory module configuration. "

 

 

But as you see.. my specs page does NOT list the memory bus speeds!

 

If the max bus speed are not listed in the specs page, then how can I purchase any memory at all?   I cannot !

 

How Crazy is this? !


 

If Satech guarantees that their 4 GB memsticks will work then I see no issues with that.  Use the part number that Satech recommends.  It is their company name on the line. 

If you want to know what the bus speeds are for your installed memory then use CPU-Z and see what the sticks report to the utility. Take a look at my post on CPU-Z in the laptop hardware section. There is a download link for the utility there.

 

Best regards,
erico





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Provost
Huffer
Posts: 10,465
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 6 of 11 (4,923 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

[ Edited ]

If they are telling you that the memory max is different with 64 bit Windows than 32 they are wrong. The hardware and BIOS create the max memory for the system. The OS limit is just how much can be used. 32 bit maxes at under 4 gigs and 64 bit effectively has no max. Most systems that can take 4 gigs in the hardware/BIOS can also take 8 if you install it. How much is 2 x 4 gigs of DDR2 laptop memory now? Last I checked it was over $400. 4 gigs is maybe $100. I am not sure 8 gigs can do anything for you with a Sempron processor, anyway, that 4 gigs would not do just as well.

ydk Honor Student
Honor Student
ydk
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎09-29-2009
Message 7 of 11 (4,516 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

I just ordered a refurbished Compaq Presario CQ61-411WM. I heard that latest Sempron's perform much better (than the older ones?). Would upgrading from 2GB 3GB make a big difference? How about from 2GB to 4GB? Would there be a bid difference between 3GB and 4GB?

Provost
Huffer
Posts: 10,465
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 8 of 11 (4,495 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

[ Edited ]

Yes Semprons perform better than they used to, but are still pretty crippled compared to first line processors. They have less L2 cache and a single processor core. However, I believe most current Semprons can run 64 bit software. The jump from 2 gigs to 3 or 2 gigs to 4 is noticeable but just as a math expression the jump from 2 to 3 is bigger than the jump from 3 to 4. You get a noticeable benefit out of 64 bit Windows 7 with 4 gigs of RAM over Windows 7 32 bit and 2 or 3 gigs of RAM. Personally I cannot see a consumer computer user who does not want to run Mac OS or Linux running any other setup right now than Windows 7 64 bit with 4 gigs of RAM on any hardware that will run it.

Tutor
johndogg
Posts: 13
Member Since: ‎10-19-2010
Message 9 of 11 (3,978 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

The answer is...YES!  I found out the max memory specs on the HP G61 and Compaq CQ61 series service manual.  With a 64 bit OS it definiotely will work.  But be sure to buy a 4GBx2 kit (that is 2 4GB SODIMM sticks that runs at 800 MHz.

Student
Crackow
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-24-2011
Message 10 of 11 (3,401 Views)

Re: Ram Upgrade in CQ61-411WM up to 8 gigs with Win 7 64 bit?

I'm not at all hardware savvy, so can a CQ61-411WM laptop take RAM that is faster than 800 mhz? For example, could I just upgrade my 2gb RAM and open slot to two 4gb 1333 mhz RAM's?

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation