Question

Tutor
McWheels
Message 1 of 6 (1,605 Views)

Touchpad "tapping" issue

Hello all, newbie here with a Pavilion dv6-2190us running Win 7/64.  It's about 8 months old now and it has had an issue with the touchpad operation from day one.  I have been working with HP Support and they have had me re-install the drivers and adjust settings but nothing has changed what this thing does.  Now they want me to do a complete system recovery and I am hesitating because I have this set up just the way I like it and I hate to have to go through that again.  I already have over a 100GBs of stuff which I do back up on an external drive but it is still a chore to start over.

The problem is that once in a while, (approximately every 5 to 20 taps), instead of the touchpad registering my "tap" as a tap, the cursor jumps about an inch away from where it was.  That makes double-clicking on things very interesting because most often, the second tap of the double-tap sends the cursor to a new spot on the screen and occasionally registers as a tap on the wrong thing.

I have tried playing with the sensitivity, moving it both directions a bit and also to the extremes.  All the adjustments and the touchpad itself works as expected except for this one issue. 

I looked through the various posts on touchpad problems but I didn't see anything that looked like it covered my kind of issue.  Basically, the touchpad and the entire laptop works perfect except for the occasional "mis-tap", that I like to call it.  I suspect it could be a hardware issue with the touchpad but it may be software.  It is like the touchpad registers a "tap" as what you might expect to happen if you "flicked" your finger on the touchpad causing the cursor to jump to a new location.  It is usually about one to two inches from the intended location and it is not like you can "see" the cursor move but more like a sudden jump.