Question
Reply
 
Top Student
DavideS
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎05-17-2012
Message 1 of 17 (61,671 Views)
Accepted Solution

Access to BIOS

Hello,

 

I have a HP Pavilion dv6 3016sl laptop but I can't enter BIOS or choose the device to boot. I tried F1, F2, F9, F10 and F11. None of them work.

 

Could you help me please?

Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 32,699
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 2 of 17 (61,664 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Does tapping the esc key when starting up load a screen you can then access the bios menu from?

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
DavideS
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎05-17-2012
Message 3 of 17 (61,661 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

No, I can't. The starting screen is an HP logo, I don't know if that helps.

Thank you

- Davide
Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 32,699
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 4 of 17 (61,659 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

Hi Davide,

 

Shut down the notebook, unplug the AC Adapter and then remove the battery.  Hold  down the Power button for 30 seconds.  Re-insert the battery, plug in the AC Adapter.

 

As you start the notebook, after a few seconds, do you see the following message at the bottom of the screen - 'Press the ESC key for Startup Menu'?  If you do, press the ESC key and you should then see a menu inluding the f10 option to access the bios settings.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
DavideS
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎05-17-2012
Message 5 of 17 (61,657 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

I did what you said but it didn't work.

Also in the starting screen I don't see the message 'Press the ESC key for Startup Menu'. Just a HP logo.

 

Thanks

 

- Davide

Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 32,699
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 6 of 17 (61,650 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

Hi Davide,

 

Shutdown the notebook.

 

Instead of tapping, try holding down the esc key as soon as you press the power button - does this launch the Startup Menu?

 

Is your notebook still under warranty - you can check this Here.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
DavideS
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎05-17-2012
Message 7 of 17 (61,648 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

It didn't work and my warranty is expired.

 

I don't remember which key I pressed, but last week I actived boot device list and booted a Linux distro from CD. I didn't press esc key for the menu.

Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 32,699
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 8 of 17 (61,640 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

Hi,

 

Was the bios updated prior to this problem occuring?

 

Try clearing the cmos as follows.

 

With reference to Page 62 of your Maintenance & Service Guide remove the RTC battery.  Hold down the power button for 30 seconds.  Reinsert the RTC cell.

 

Can you access any menus at boot now?

 

Regards,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
DavideS
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎05-17-2012
Message 9 of 17 (61,629 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

Thank you David! It worked.

Provost
DavidPK
Posts: 32,699
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 10 of 17 (61,622 Views)

Re: Access to BIOS

Hi Davide,

 

You're welcome and good to hear it's now working :smileyhappy:

 

All the best,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation