Brand New Laptop is Slow and Horrible.... Please help. (1816 Views)
Honor Student
Barry_mann
Message 1 of 8 (1,816 Views)

Brand New Laptop is Slow and Horrible.... Please help.

I'll start with a little bit of background.

I have been building my own Desktops since 1998. About 4 years ago, i bought a compaq laptop at a Black Friday sale. My first actual computer purchase. The laptop has been good but has been heavily abused.

I am at the point in my career were i need to do quite a bit of traveling. It was embarrasing givine presentations with my old eye sore laptop. So i decided it was time to upgrade.

A few months back i purchased a

DV7-4223ca

AMD Phenom II N870 Processor

4gb DDR3 memory

Windows 7 64 bit

Has most of the bells and whistles and a very sharp looking computer.

When i received it, i followed the directions exactly. It took many, many hours to install Microsoft Office, Microsoft Project and a few other small add ons. At first, i thought it was because it is new. Usaully one of my fresh build desktops are slow for a few days after the first startup. But this seems to be getting worse. My first performance index was a 5.0 ( Straight out of the box). now it is down to a 4.3. I cannot use it for work because it constantly locks up while giving presentations. I cant download hardly anything. My 4 year old $200 laptop works circles around this thing!!!

Last night was movie night with the kids. I guess the DVD player decided to die, but i have this very expensive useless box over here. It is suppose to have all kind of multimedia features................. We never got to finish watching the movie. Kids were upset and i had to go buy a new dvd player from walmart at 10:00 pm

One more gripe.... The mouse pad sucks. I have to hit it multiple times at a minium.