Display is Blank only showing blinking cursor (16624 Views)
Tutor
BratneysComp89
Message 1 of 22 (16,624 Views)
Accepted Solution

Display is Blank only showing blinking cursor

[ Edited ]

Hi There!

I bought my hp minI 250 laptop back in March and about 3 weeks ago it just randomly went to a blank screen with a blinking white cursor in the upper left hand corner. Ive tried charging it, removing the battery and reinstalling my windows program. I can shut it off using the side power button but when i turn it on it flashes the HP start screen then goes to the blank screen. What else can i do? Any advice would be helpful as i am not tech savvy when it comes to computer breakdown. Thanks!

Grad Student
mc713
Message 2 of 22 (16,614 Views)

Re: Blank screen w/ blinking cursor

The hard drive may have failed. To check, turn on your computer and as soon as you turn on the power button, start tapping the F10 key. That should take you to the BIOS set up utility. Press the right arrow key (the mouse will not work here) to get to the diagnostics tab and press enter. Run the primary hard drive self test. If it fails, you will need to replace your hard drive.

If you just purchased the system in March, it may still be in warranty. If so, call 1-800-474-6836 for help getting your hard drive replaced.

I am an employee of Hewlett Packard.

- - Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem so others can more easily find the answer - -
- - Please click the Kudos star if you would like to say thanks - -

Tutor
BratneysComp89
Message 3 of 22 (16,609 Views)

Ok so i went through the process and it said hard disk passed. So i exited out of it and it was still doing the same thing... anything else it may be?

Grad Student
mc713
Message 4 of 22 (16,598 Views)

Well, I'm glad the hard drive is good. You said you had tried reinstalling Windows. How did you do that and what happened?