Question

Honor Student
Slappygilmore
Message 1 of 9 (4,370 Views)

Hp Envy m6 Notebook Overheating

Hi, this is my first time using the Hp website, I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right spot for this; correct me if I'm wrong.

Ever since I've bought my Hp laptop about 3 months ago it has had heat problems, the spot left of the trackpad getting really hot. Then shortly after the computer proceeding to turn itself off, even with the slightest use. With simply playing Minecraft & 1 tab of Chrome open my laptop is getting to the point where it is on fire. I've tried using a fan under it, and the laptop still overheated. Even on a flat surface such as a desk it still is doing this. I've updated the BIOS as recommended on a post that I read on the forums. The fan worked like never before, it was loud, but it did that job properly. I've cleaned my vents with a can of compressed air, and done everything I know how to do. I don't want to take the laptop apart or take it to a professional, because that's just too much time and money.

I've included the BIOS update that I have, please link me to a new version if there is one. Is there anyway to change the speed at which the fan is blowing? Another off topic question here is when the battery gets low it makes an ear piercing beap. I've woken up to it at 3 in morning a couple times now beeping because it's almost dead. The laptop wakes itself up and makes these shreaks for a charger. I don't care if it runs out of battery, and if I did I still wouldn't want it to be that annoying. How can I stop it, I've often contemplated throwing it across the room. I understand the nice gesture and all, but this is just ridiculous!

Hp Envy m6 Notebook PC C2L91UA#ABA - BIOS (Configuartion) - F.23 - 12/13/2012 (087B110022305B10000620130)

Windows 8 64-Bit

System overheated

Regents Professor
ManjunathTech
Message 2 of 9 (4,365 Views)

Re: Hp Envy m6 Notebook Overheating

Hi