Pavilion dv6-2020ev (with x64 Windows7) keeps freezing randomly (13377 Views)
Top Student
GreyWulf
Message 1 of 17 (13,377 Views)

Pavilion dv6-2020ev (with x64 Windows7) keeps freezing randomly

Hi, all!

Newbie here. A friend referred me to these forums since I'm having some problems with my HP laptops.

I have an HP Pavilion dv6-2020ev that runs a Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit OS. I bought it back in October 2009. It's been running swell until three weeks ago, then it started freezing up on me at random times. It would freeze when I'm playing, when I'm writing a Word document, when I'm working, even when it's idling. There seems to be no set timing for the freeze - sometimes it lets me work for hours, sometimes just for a half-hour.

I've already done a fresh install of the OS, cleaned out the previous partitions, and created new ones (50GB for Win7 + 400GB for others). Still, that freezing problem is there. I've done some malware detection via Kaspersky and ESET, and still nada. I'm thinking it's a hardware issue, but I'm no expert. I'm already thinking of sending it back to Carrefour (where I bought it), but I want that to be my last resort, especially since the customer servicing here in the UAE can be pretty dubious, downright stupid at times. I want to exhaust all my possibilities before sending the laptop back.

Can anyone please help? I would very much appreciate the effort.

Thanks!

Student
Bushi_Muhammad
Message 2 of 17 (13,337 Views)

Re: Pavilion dv6-2020ev (with x64 Windows7) keeps freezing randomly

check your windows log (START > RUN > EVENTVWR) for errors happened before the computer crashed.

my guess is it's some driver not installed probably or a beta version.

Top Student
GreyWulf
Message 3 of 17 (13,312 Views)

Nope, no prob there.

The freezing began with a previous installation of Windows 7 Ultimate. I installed a fresh Win7 Ultimate - along with new partitions - and the problem is still there.

Top Student
GreyWulf