Question

Honor Student
PradeepChand
Message 1 of 28 (18,089 Views)

[Recall] HP Pavilion dv67xx laptop - NVIDIA GPU Overheating

Hello,

I have been using HP Laptop for last 3 years now. From last year I have been experiencing Overheating problem. The overheating is obvious when I play Flash videos. The solution when I contacted HP Customer care was to keep the vents well ventilated & clean from dust. However, it is not working out. Due to overhearing now my keyboard also has stopped working. I had thought that this might be because of AMD processor, so I searched on the net for a solution to this problem.

It came to my notice that it is primarily due to faulty NVIDIA graphics chip and after a court order they have ordered a mass recall. Source: http://www.nvidiasettlement.com/ 

However, to my surprise my laptop version does not appear in the list (http://www.nvidiasettlement.com/affectedmodels.html), neither do i see a recall notice for any of the listed laptops in HP customer support site.

My laptop configuration: HP Pavilion dv6748us

- AMD Turion 64x2

- NVidia GeForce Go 7150M

- 2GB RAM

Could anyone please guide me what needs to be done?

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,

Pradeep

Honor Student
betsyc
Message 2 of 28 (17,655 Views)

Re: [Recall] HP Pavilion dv67xx laptop - NVIDIA GPU Overheating

I too have the nvidia problem. I always use a cooler pad with a couple of fans but all of the sudden scrambled screen then black and won't start. I believe it is the video chip from what I have read, however I was not notified in any way of the defect. Therefore I was not able to join the class action lawsuit as it happened after March 14th deadline which was the last day to join. I did register my laptop when it was purchased and thought that the reason for that was to notify folks of any problems. I found a video on you tube on how to remedy the problem but it looks too intense for me. I will now purchase a non HP laptop.

betsyc