Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
Check out our WINDOWS 11 Support Center info about: OPTIMIZATION, KNOWN ISSUES, FAQs, VIDEOS AND MORE.
HP Recommended
Probook 4520S
Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

My HP Probook 4520S laptop is rather old, but still works well. I've been running Linux on it for several years now. However, I now need to re-install Windows: I'll probably create a VM. I still have the original disks supplied by HP. However, I can't read the licence number/product key as the sticker (on the bottom of the laptop) is too worn. Microsoft say that I must contact the OEM, which is why I'm writing this.

What can I do? Can you send me a new licence number? Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

You're very welcome.

So, you are running W7 in a virtual environment?

Unfortunately, I don't know how that works.  I've only run XP in a virtual environment with W7 installed on the hard drive.

That is supported by Microsoft, so I didn't need a XP product key for that setup.

The HP-supplied W7 installation disk should work without the need of entering a product key, and should not need to be activated if you are installing it on the hard drive as a clean (custom) install.