Question
Reply
 
Top Student
Shava_Oglenkz
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-07-2010
Message 1 of 13 (9,659 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

I can't install XP SP2 on my notebook, i've try to find sata ahci driver for compaq presario CQ42 203AU, but i can't find it, at any links.... help me please...!!! :mansad:

Model : Compaq Presario CQ42 203AU

Product : WY277PA#UUF

Provost
Daniel_Potyrala
Posts: 10,921
Member Since: ‎01-31-2009
Message 2 of 13 (9,649 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

[ Edited ]

Hi,

You need to slipstream AMD Sata drivers with XP.

Have you tried this which are posted in part D of below guide?

SATA drivers for XP (solution on 0x0000007B BSOD)

 

 

** Say thanks by clicking the "Thumb up" icon which is on the left. **

 

** Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with "Accept as Solution" if it solves your issue. **

 

  Microsoft MVP Windows Expert - Consumer
Top Student
Shava_Oglenkz
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-07-2010
Message 3 of 13 (9,594 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

Yes, i've tried that method, but i got "bla...bla... 64 is corrupt", i think i've got a bad driver for SATA AHCI driver....

Can you send a link for SATA AHCI driver for CQ42 203AU....? :manhappy:

Provost
CherylG
Posts: 21,698
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 4 of 13 (9,587 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

Try this:

 

http://cid-10d0e6e125be32c7.office.live.com/self.aspx/.Public/RAID7xx.zip


******Clicking the Thumbs-Up button is a way to give Kudo's -Thanks!.******
**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue to help others who are searching**
Top Student
Shava_Oglenkz
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-07-2010
Message 5 of 13 (9,514 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

Dear Daniel n CherylG.... I've tried to slipstream SATA AHCI AMD to XP SP2... but it still failed. There writen "The file ahcix64.sys could not be found", and when i tried to insert both file in single driver mode (x64 and x86), it's still writen "The file ahcix64.sys could not be found"....... :smileysad:

 

So i tried to choose multiple drivers, then i still failed and wrote there "The file ahcix64 is corrupted".... :smileymad: :smileymad: 

 

Can you help and explain it to me..? :smileyhappy:

 

thanks before it....

Provost
CherylG
Posts: 21,698
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 6 of 13 (9,494 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

Are you trying to install XP 64 or 32 bit? For 32 bit,use insert single driver and only add x86 driver.


******Clicking the Thumbs-Up button is a way to give Kudo's -Thanks!.******
**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue to help others who are searching**
Top Student
Shava_Oglenkz
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-07-2010
Message 7 of 13 (9,485 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

Yes, i have XP SP2 32 bit.... when i choose single driver, i choose x86.inf... and then, in txtmode driver, i confuse,... why there are 2 kind files like picture below....

 

1.jpg

 

so, then i choose x86 platform only, and after i use it to booting, there say "ahcix64.sys could not be found"....

 

then i rebuild iso file using same method but i choose both of them (x64 and x86), but i still got = "ahcix64.sys could not be found"....

 

help me to solve the problem please...:smileysad:

Distinguished Professor
Rakhmad
Posts: 2,817
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 8 of 13 (9,478 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

The error of "ahcix64.sys could not be found" is generated due to a mix driver of 64bit and 32bit.

Start again from copying a fresh XP-SP2 installer to harddisk and slipstream amd sata driver, choose only 32bit driver.

 

The current XP has been contaminated with 64bit amd driver.

______

Pavilion DV2922TX, XP-SP3 32bit, Intel T5750 2.0Ghz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS with 128MB, 4GB 667 DDR2, 250GB HDD
Top Student
Shava_Oglenkz
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎12-07-2010
Message 9 of 13 (9,365 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

OK, thanks Rakhmad, i'll try it later.... It mean i must change my source of 'XP SP2' with a new one which not contamined with any file of amd 64bit driver, isn't....?

 

Ok, now i will share a new problem here. :smileyvery-happy: (hehehehe) Now i'm using Windows Seven in my CQ42 203AU, but i can't using some of my keyboard, such as alt+f4 for closing window, f5 for view fullscreen of power point, etc...

 

any one have a question...?

Distinguished Professor
Rakhmad
Posts: 2,817
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 10 of 13 (9,341 Views)

Re: Can't install XP SP2 in Presario CQ42 203AU

Yes, you read it well.

 

For your new problem in Windows 7, it can be can in bios setting.

F4 or F5 or any other Function keys are set as other functions see your keyboard lay out. The current setting need to push shift along with F4 to access F4, if you dont like it, just change the setting in BIOS.

______

Pavilion DV2922TX, XP-SP3 32bit, Intel T5750 2.0Ghz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS with 128MB, 4GB 667 DDR2, 250GB HDD
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation