Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
jhayzee
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎01-03-2009
Message 1 of 12 (13,784 Views)

Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

I want to downgrade it to Windows XP, preferable SP3... Can this be done with this model and how?

Its specifications can be seen here: http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/productDetail.do?oid=223177 

I need it in XP since Vista is giving problems to a couple of programs I need in school... Thanks in advance! 

Top Student
Lemuel
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎01-03-2009
Message 2 of 12 (13,755 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

it would really depend on the license of your OS. where was it purchased?
Honor Student
jhayzee
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎01-03-2009
Message 3 of 12 (13,697 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

It came with Vista Home Edition 32-bit... I'm not exactly sure of where, since it was bought by my relatives in Las Vegas and was sent.
Distinguished Professor
Rakhmad
Posts: 2,817
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 4 of 12 (13,663 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP


jhayzee wrote:

I want to downgrade it to Windows XP, preferable SP3... Can this be done with this model and how?

Its specifications can be seen here: http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/productDetail.do?oid=223177 

I need it in XP since Vista is giving problems to a couple of programs I need in school... Thanks in advance! 


A good choice of notebook if you wish to install XP. This model supports XP very well, however up till now there are NO official drivers from HP.

While many other HP customer notebooks are difficult to downgrade due to lack of XP drivers.

 

I assume you are a student, a bright one for sure, installing XP for this notebook needs a little work.

To install XP you need to buy XP license, there is a significant discount for student.

Try the following steps

 

First step

Your model needs ICH9 sata driver to be sliptreamed onto XP CD installer.

 

Use Nlite to sliptream ICH9 sata driver.
A good guide to sliptream sata driver, here

 

Note: do NOT use sata driver from that guide, your sata driver is ICH9 given below.

ICH9 sata driver,

The driver is located in iaAHCI.inf and is called ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller, here

 

Nlite download, here

 

____

 

Second steps

Drivers for CQ50-142US

Intel Chipset,(install and reboot before other drivers), here

 

MS-UAA (required with a reboot before intel Video-HDMI, Audio and modem drivers), here

 

Mobile Intel 4 Series Express Chipset Family Graphics (with HDMI audio driver), here

 

Conexant SmartAudio 221 (fix microphone problem by forum user) here

 

How to install:

Unzip to a folder.run installer.

 

if it errors use Device Manager.
From Device Manager,right click "Audio Device on HD",choose Update driver,
No to connect, Install from a list or specific location,

 

Select Don't Search, I will choose the driver to install,
For the Hardware Type select 'Show All Devices'
Remove the check from "Show Compatible Hardware" and click on "Have Disk".
Next...browse to the unzipped folder and choose the "WiSVHe5.inf".
Ignore XP when it complains.
Reboot.

 

Conexant HDAUDIO Soft Data Fax Modem with SmartCP Driver, here

 

If you had Atheros Wireless driver, here

or if it does not work try here

 

If you had Broadcom Wireless, here

 

If you had Intel PRO/Wireless Driver, here

 

Realtek usb 2.0 Card reader, here

 

Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC Driver, here

 

Synaptics Touchpad Driver, here

 

If you had Bluetooth, here


.Net Framework(required before HP Quick Launch Buttons), here

 

 HP Quick Lauch Buttons, here

 

If you had for 7 unknown devices (buttons drivers), here

 

Installation --> right click machine.inf, choose install.

 

Good luck

 

______

Pavilion DV2922TX, XP-SP3 32bit, Intel T5750 2.0Ghz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS with 128MB, 4GB 667 DDR2, 250GB HDD
Honor Student
jhayzee
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎01-03-2009
Message 5 of 12 (13,524 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

Thanks!!!... Hope it will work fine, just that I probably won't be able to do it any time soon since I lost my copy of windows XP.. Hehe, anyway, thanks again...
Distinguished Professor
Rakhmad
Posts: 2,817
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 6 of 12 (13,493 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

Hopefully those drivers work. Please post for any successful or unsuccessful result.
______

Pavilion DV2922TX, XP-SP3 32bit, Intel T5750 2.0Ghz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS with 128MB, 4GB 667 DDR2, 250GB HDD
Student
Capt_TAZ
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎02-05-2009
Message 7 of 12 (12,530 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

[ Edited ]

This is SOOOOO frustrating!!!!!!!!

 

Something so simple as slipstreaming a driver into Windows XP.

 

I am getting "cannot access C:\Documents and Settings......." when performing the slip.

 

I have copied the xp cd to c:\winxpsp2 (previously slipstreamed)

I have copied the driver files from the link to the c:\

I have run nLite in windows vista, windows xp, and windows xp logged in as administrator, all with the same result.

 

of course doing an internet search on why nlite is even looking in the documents and settings area gives back nothing.

 

I am at my wits end...please shed some light.

 

Thanks in advance

 

As a follow on, I do have an external floppy on which i put the iaachl drivers, pressed F6 and specified the correct driver....windows install continued as it should all the way up to "starting windows" at which point I continually receive a 0x0000007B stop blue screen of death. The internet search indicates this is due to either a boot sector virus or a hardware conflict. Still not sure what to do from here.

 

again...thanks

Message Edited by Capt_TAZ on 02-05-2009 10:37 AM
Student
mhendria
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-16-2009
Message 8 of 12 (9,099 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

Thanks for all your advice Rakmad...

 

But i still got problem as detail below  :

1. I tried to connect handfree... I hear sound in handfree but my note book still have sound

2. Microphone did't work properly... I tried to call my friend in YM... I can hear his voice but he can't hear my voice...

 

can you advice me...

 

Best regards,

 

mhendria

Distinguished Professor
Rakhmad
Posts: 2,817
Member Since: ‎11-21-2008
Message 9 of 12 (9,067 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

Uninstall the current audio driver, use remove/add programs in control panel, reboot.

You may use driver from MS update or download it here

 

There is other option, that discovered by Daniel, that is using Lenovo driver, as posted in this thread

______

Pavilion DV2922TX, XP-SP3 32bit, Intel T5750 2.0Ghz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS with 128MB, 4GB 667 DDR2, 250GB HDD
Student
oscarumana
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-24-2010
Message 10 of 12 (6,673 Views)

Re: Downgrading Compaq Presario CQ50-142US from Vista to Windows XP

 
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation