Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize (14433 Views)
Reply
Top Student
brinko99
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-04-2009
Message 11 of 18 (4,216 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

[ Edited ]

 

Ah, I found the solution for the reversal of the function (Fn) keys.

 

They trick is to disable Action Keys in the bios.  Press Esc or F10 immediately at boot to enter the bios.  Action Keys can be disabled which makes the function keys (F1-F12) primary and requires the Fn key combination for use of the Action Keys (brightness, help, volume, etc).

 

-- Terrence Jones

Terenity.com

 

 

Teacher
Antony_Lee
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎07-04-2010
Message 12 of 18 (3,597 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

hello, anyone know a version that will work on an envy 17 notebook ???

 

I need to stop that volume control button bump me out from game.

 

Thanks

regards,

Antony Lee
Provost
Daniel_Potyrala
Posts: 10,920
Registered: ‎01-31-2009
Message 13 of 18 (3,594 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 


Antony_Lee wrote:

I need to stop that volume control button bump me out from game.


 

Uninstall MediaSmart SmartMenu from your system or uncheck it from startup list as showed below:

 

  • Click Start .
  • In the Search field, type: msconfig and when the option appears in the menu, press Enter .
  • In the System Configuration window, click the Startup tab.
  • Find it on the list and uncheck it.
  • Click OK.

 

This steps will switch off on-screen visuals, but for this problem there isn't any better solution for now.

 

** Say thanks by clicking the "Thumb up" icon which is on the left. **

 

** Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with "Accept as Solution" if it solves your issue. **

 

  Microsoft MVP Windows Expert - Consumer
Teacher
Antony_Lee
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎07-04-2010
Message 14 of 18 (3,578 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

it sounds like that HP should provide an update to that media smart utilities such that allowing to disable the off screen display... but anyway, this is good so far.

 

regards,

Antony Lee
Honor Student
cpschott69
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-27-2010
Message 15 of 18 (3,107 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

this is excellent-- nice work finding this

so now what is needed are fixes to the other issues that are irritating due to the new keyboard

 

1. five new buttons on left side of keyboard-- some posts have dealt with the media button but this is a general thing, need

software access to turn these buttons into soft keys(ie whatever you want)

 

2. lack of num lock and scroll lock keys and the associated number keys to make number entry easier--

these keys used to be 7, 8, 9, U, I, O, J, K, L, M  ...............

called HP support and they say they are just gone

used to be handy for getting at special characters  by typing alt  ### to get  latin letters etc

 

HP has got to fix this -- it is on all their new machines 

Student
majadgn
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-01-2010
Message 16 of 18 (2,616 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

going to reboot and test now..

Student
Dale_Y
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
Message 17 of 18 (850 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

Yes, kept hitting the function keys - found this http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02035108&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_R1002_US...

page to change the bios and reverse the funtion key to "normal".

I have a dm1.

Student
cleo3874
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-23-2013
Message 18 of 18 (211 Views)

Re: Envy 15 / windows 7 64bit / quick launch buttons / customize

how do i get my "Rocket Ship" icon back to my task bar? it used to be there a while ago but it just disappeared one day how can i get it back? i tried looking for it as an app as a installed program or simple things like that

 

do i need to download it? reinstall it? or what ??? :smileyfrustrated:

 

please help

thanks

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation