Question
Reply
 
Student
ShannaEllen
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-23-2010
Message 1 of 10 (5,618 Views)

Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

I have a HP G71-34OUS Notebook running Windows 7. I recently bought a new battery and changed it out in June. How can I get the Windows Service Pack 1 for x64 based Systems (KB9766932) to update.

Student
EbirdsE
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎11-05-2012
Message 2 of 10 (5,400 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

 Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update

Regents Professor
lions99
Posts: 5,461
Member Since: ‎09-16-2011
Message 3 of 10 (5,389 Views)

Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

Hey guys,

Try this document if you can. http://goo.gl/lc5by

THX :smileyhappy:
Student
bbrewer
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-28-2013
Message 4 of 10 (5,345 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

I also have HP G71-340US computer and trying to install windows update  WIndows 7 service pack for X64 based systems (KB976932).   I keep getting the same error saying that my computer is not plugged in.  The laptop is plugged in and not running on battery power.

 

Is this a fault in the COmputer hardware or with Microsoft Software?

 

Bill

Regents Professor
lions99
Posts: 5,461
Member Since: ‎09-16-2011
Message 5 of 10 (5,303 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

Typically it means your notebook is running on battery at the moment. I would suggest doing a hard reset with the notebook then trying the update again.

 

Follow this document for the hard reset. Then after the reset go ahead and try the update.

 

Let me know the outcome please. 

 

THX

Student
mahmoud75
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-18-2013
Message 6 of 10 (5,223 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

[ Edited ]

Dear Sir/Mrs.

                           Kindly As above subject mentioned , please Help me to finalize and repair that Error massage that Apperred on my screen

 

 

thank you 

Best Regards

mahmoud {Personal Information Removed}

Distinguished Professor
anthony82
Posts: 2,800
Member Since: ‎02-19-2013
Message 7 of 10 (5,158 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

Hello mahmoud75,

 

You’re having a problem not being able to install an update because you are getting an error that the computer needs to be plugged in.

Go to HP.com and update your BIOS.

 

Here is a link to the update. You’ll need your product number.

 

Also you can run the following command in command prompt.  SFC /scannow. This should scan the system files and correct any errors that it can. When you go to open command prompt right click and say run as administrator.

 

Here is a link to command prompt.

 

I have also heard that if you remove the battery and just let the system run on the ac adapter that you'll be able to install the update.

The system shouldn’t think that you’re running on battery if there is no battery plugged in.

 

Let me know how everything goes.

Student
bekgreat824
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎05-22-2013
Message 8 of 10 (4,963 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.


EbirdsE wrote:

 Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update


 

Distinguished Professor
anthony82
Posts: 2,800
Member Since: ‎02-19-2013
Message 9 of 10 (4,874 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

Hello bekgreat824,

 

Are you having the same error?

 

If so you’re getting this error because you are running the laptop on battery during an update the system needs to be plugged in.

 

Let me know how everything goes.

Student
Skyslycer
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-13-2013
Message 10 of 10 (4,335 Views)

Re: Error Code 800F0829 shows when I try to do Windows update. My laptop is plugged in.

Ran into this problem on a client Pavilion G61-488c.  Tried a lot of the tips to no avail.  Swapped with another power supply I had available and it switched to being plugged in.  Installed all the updates.  Found the center whisker wire in the original power supply plug to be bent to one side.  Apparently no effect on charging as this laptop had been operating with the bent wire since before SP1 was issued.  Straightened the center wire and now it switches between battery and plugged in normally.  Have a look in the plug.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation