Error code #0xe0f00013, while using factory image restore (6009 Views)
Honor Student
pawann
Message 1 of 6 (6,009 Views)
Accepted Solution

Error code #0xe0f00013, while using factory image restore

Hi Everyone,

I have had this notebook for about 8 months. The model is HP PAVILION DV6T-4000 NOTEBOOK,

I am a software developer so I needed to install Linux on this machine in dual boot mode.

I created the recovery disks before installing linux.

Once I installed linux, windows 7 stopped working, and started to ask for windows 7 disk. Using recovery disks, Couldnt find an option to restore the old windows 7 installation ( Those options were disabled). Other options of formatting HD and restore to out-of-factory state were available. At the end, I had to select factory image restore.

When I boot the recovery dvd and do a system restore it loads all 5 disks  and at the 6th disk when it gets to 83% and is "Copying files required to restore hard drive" it throws below error:

"Recovery Manager could not restore your computer using the factory image.  Please contact HP support.  Error code: 0xe0f00013"

I tried to restore it 3-4 times, every time the result was the same.

I  ran HD self test,  which doesnt show any problem with my HD. The recovery disks I created are fresh and have no scratches. I am not sure whats causing this problem.

This all situation raises below questions:

1) What is this hex code "0xe0f00013" for?

2) Once we buy a "personal" NOTEBOOK, Shouldnt we be free to install any operating as per our need?

3) Why HP does not provide with a Windows disk, and why should we depend on recovery disks, or recovery partition; such unreliable mechanisms?

Earlier I had a Dell laptop which provided me with all the recovery and windows disks.

I have ordered for recovery disks from HP. Lets see if HP provided recovery disks can help.

If anyone has anyother work around, please help.

Thanks.

Provost
DavidPK
Message 2 of 6 (5,960 Views)