Question

Student
don2712
Message 1 of 7 (54,357 Views)

HP 2000 notebook factory reset

[ Edited ]

Last week I purchased an HP 2000 notebook with windows 8 installed I now wish to return and upgrade for a model with a faster processor. I only have a very few personal items on it such as my email address, windows password administrator details and log in passwords on a couple of apps.

Therefore I am considering doing a factory reset to remove my personal information and any passwords I have installed.

There is no windows key on the notebook itself. In the windows information there is a product ID number which I do not think is the windows key and another which seems to be it but consists of some asterisks and just the last five letters of a key therefore, I am uncertain about what I need to do.

I am not very good with computers but as far as I can ascertain I need to do a factory reset via the HP repair software and not any other way.

Any advice as to how I should proceed and what precautions I should take would be most welcome (I have watched the specific HP video on this proceedure, maybe I'm just stupid but I found it only added to my confusion).

Don

Tutor
cx88
Message 2 of 7 (54,334 Views)

Re: HP 2000 notebook factory reset

Turn on HP laptp

Press F11

Select Keyboard Layout

Click TroubleShoot

Click Recovery Manager

Click Windows 8

Another is the just start the windows and search recovery, then launch HP Recovery Manager

Dean
Dragon-Fur
Message 3 of 7 (54,311 Views)

Below is a helpful Guide on the Windows 8 Reset procedure:

Reset Your PC to Resolve Problems (Windows 8)

Excerpted from the Reset Windows 8 document:

This document pertains to HP PCs with Windows 8.

Windows 8 includes a feature called Reset your PC that permanently removes everything and reinstalls Windows. This is useful when you sell or recycle your computer, or when you want to return it to the way it was when it came from the factory.