Question
Reply
 
Top Student
sunmoonstars117
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎09-16-2010
Message 1 of 26 (15,125 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP Advisor has stopped working

I have Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit installed on my HP Pavilion dv6500. Every time I try to open Hp Total Care Advisor a box pops up saying that Hp Advisor has stopped working. If I try to open any of the programs in HP Advisor, such as pc update or battery check, another box pops up that says an error has occured. The box says "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." Is there a solution for this?

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Posts: 2,317
Member Since: ‎11-18-2008
Message 2 of 26 (15,103 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

Try to register Adodb.dll, by follow these steps:

  1. Click Start and then click Run.
  2. In the Run dialog box, type the following command, and then click OK
    C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v1.0.3705\gacutil /i C:\Program Files\Microsoft.NET\Primary Interop Assemblies\adodb.dll

It is does not work, tDownload, uninstall and reinstall HP Advisor for here... ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softlib/software11/COL34630/pv-85800-1/sp46210.exe

_________________________________________________________
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Student
johntala
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎09-20-2010
Message 3 of 26 (15,027 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

thanks i solved the problem i follow the instruction of cyclops thanks sir..

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Posts: 2,317
Member Since: ‎11-18-2008
Message 4 of 26 (15,014 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

You are always welcome! :smileyhappy:

 

johntala, one other thing could you kindly let me know which of the 2 solution was used to resolve the issue....

_________________________________________________________
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Honor Student
tlcasady1021
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 5 of 26 (14,881 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

I have this topic open as well and an HP employee is checking to see if version 1.1 can be downloaded as a stand-alone item.  In the meantime, I looked up the SP you suggested and went ahead and downloaded the 3.3 version (figuring at worst I could un-install and not have advisor at all).  Although HP said there may be some compatibility issues, so far it has worked perfectly.  I did double check and needed 2 new windows updates afterwords.  I tried your first solution initially, but windows could not locate the utility file, even when I corrected the path to where it actually resides on my computer.  I used your SP download solution on a Pavilion Notebook dv9000 running Vista Home Premium SP2 (32 bit).

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Posts: 2,317
Member Since: ‎11-18-2008
Message 6 of 26 (14,854 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

so, did it fix your issue?

_________________________________________________________
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Honor Student
kerrykayv
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎09-29-2010
Message 7 of 26 (14,840 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

Help..I too have the same problem. I went to START but can not find the RUN option.  Please let me know where to locate it. Thank you

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Posts: 2,317
Member Since: ‎11-18-2008
Message 8 of 26 (14,661 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

Windows Key + R will give you Run Window....

_________________________________________________________
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Student
compumoron
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎11-24-2010
Message 9 of 26 (13,427 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

Hi Cyclops

 

I tried both solutions regarding my HP Total Care Advisor (HPTCA) not working and neither one of them worked unfortunately.  I think I am in way over my head.  I initially wanted to see if the Advisor could tell me why my icons are not working which they still are not, but then the Advisor would say not working...so now I am involved in this.  So I tried both options you gave the person that indicated it was resolved.  After the 2nd solution I clicked on the HPTCA and I got an error message If (OSLangDec=="1028" || OSLangDec=="2052" || OSLangDec=="3076" || OSLangDec=="1046" || OSLangDec=="2070") Then.  I don't know what that means and I appreciate any help. 

 

 

Regents Professor
HaggisCat
Posts: 4,431
Member Since: ‎12-28-2009
Message 10 of 26 (13,416 Views)

Re: HP Advisor has stopped working

@ compumoron  (that's funny)

 

 I don't want to get involved with your Advisor problem, but I may be able to help you with your "Icon" problem.

 Could you please post a screen shot of what your Icon's look like.

 

 Is this the sort of thing you are seeing ?

 

 Icon.PNG

 

                       

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation