HP TrueVision HD Webcam Has Massive Lag (8875 Views)
Honor Student
elisegeree
Message 1 of 6 (8,875 Views)

HP TrueVision HD Webcam Has Massive Lag

Hello, I just got my new HP Pavilion dv7-6163us (Win7, 64bit) laptop for Christmas (and might I add, it's gorgeous), but when opening up YouCam, I noticed there is quite a bit of lag on the playback on the screen. I tried to record a small video clip, hoping it didn't effect the actual recorded data, but just as much lag was recorded. I was wondering if there was any way that I could fix this? I'm new to YouCam, so a walk-through would be fabulous. Thanks in advance.

Associate Dean
Dragon-Fur
Message 2 of 6 (8,855 Views)

Re: HP TrueVision HD Webcam Has Massive Lag

Hi Elise,  Welcome to the HP forum!

Try this:

YouCam > Settings (top-right selection, looks like tools) First Tab (looks like a Webcam) > Capture Resolution > Decrease the resolution (smaller numbers = less detail = faster response)

Whilst I was looking into this I did find something you should have - it's the full help manual for YouCam.  I didn't even know this existed, so thank you for your inquiry!  The pdf version is easier to scroll through than the little help file that is attached to the YouCam program.

To see your YouCam version:

Open a Windows Explorer window and

paste this line into the top Search / Title bar (just to the right of the <--> arrows)

OR open the window and bump down until you find the YouCam folder...

C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\YouCam

Right-Click YouCam.exe > Properties > Details > Check your "Product Version"

Manuals and the Forum:

Here is the manual for YouCam V3.x - it's what I have in my own dv7 (just updated to 3.5).

YouCam Manual 3.x

If you have a different version of YouCam, start at this page and select your Version:

YouCam User Guide List

It appears that if you register your YouCam you can participate in the Forum. 

You can look around without being registered:

CyberLink Community Forum - YouCam