Question

Student
cypherpunk01
Message 1 of 5 (6,992 Views)

Installing Linux on a Pavilion dm4-1165dx

Does anyone have any advice for installing Linux on an HP laptop, specifically a dm4?

I've never used anything beyond Windows and I don't have much experience installing operating systems so I have some questions. I'm not computer illiterate but I'm a noob when it comes to this sort of thing and to non-Windows operating systems in general.

A. Compatibility issues. Will I have trouble with some of my new computer's hardware, i.e. the webcam, the wi-fi adapters, the touchpad, the fingerprint reader, etc. Does anyone know which distro is the most compatible? Also does anyone have any advice for a linux compatible wireless mouse?

B. Keeping the factory recovery partition. As I said earlier I don't have much experiencing installing operating systems and was wondering if anyone has any advice for installing Linux while keeping the recovery partition so that I can go back to Windows. Note this computer is brand new and has nothing on it but factory-installed bloatware so I have no problems with losing data so long as I am able to reinstall Windows if I need to.

C. Linux and HP in general. If anyone has any other general advice for running Linux on an HP laptop I would appreciate it.

Regents Professor
pepe999
Message 2 of 5 (6,966 Views)

Re: Installing Linux on a Pavilion dm4-1165dx

A: I suggest to do some research on linux forums, like ubuntu.com, mandriva, mint, pclos and other distro forums. I used to use Ubuntu but newer distros are worse and worse. I use Sabayon linux http://www.sabayon.org/

Everything works out of the box, including webcam, wifi card, sound card, graphics card, flash videos, etc.

B: Make a recovery dvd(usb) using the recovery partition so you don't need the partition anymore. Then delete the partition(also shrink the Windows partition) and use the free space for linux.