Question
Installing Windows on an NC6400
Replies (16)
Reply
 
Tutor
volvo_man
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎12-21-2011
Message 11 of 17 (116 Views)

Re: Installing Windows on an NC6400

Good idea, I will try first actually using a different slipstreamed disc as I have a spare XP installation disc.

Thanks

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 42,246
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 12 of 17 (113 Views)

Re: Installing Windows on an NC6400

Anytime.

 

Glad to have been of assistance.

Tutor
volvo_man
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎12-21-2011
Message 13 of 17 (104 Views)

Re: Installing Windows on an NC6400

Finally I have managed to install XP on this laptop! It turns out that my hard drive was bad; I put a different HDD in, used the slipstreamed disc that I'd made and it worked without an issue. Thank you for your help!

Also, even though I've slipstreamed drivers for the nc6400, I can still use this disc on any other PC can't I?

Thanks

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 42,246
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 14 of 17 (102 Views)

Re: Installing Windows on an NC6400

Hi:

 

Glad you got it figured out.

 

Sure...you can use that disk on any notebook or desktop PC with an Intel processor/chipset.

Tutor
volvo_man
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎12-21-2011
Message 15 of 17 (99 Views)

Re: Installing Windows on an NC6400

OK thanks
Would it work on a computer without an Intel chipset too or do I need a different disc?
Thanks
Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Posts: 42,246
Member Since: ‎07-13-2010
Message 16 of 17 (95 Views)

Re: Installing Windows on an NC6400

It will work on any computer up to an Intel series 5 chipset (if you used the drivers I posted) and it will work on any PC in IDE mode.

 

It will not work on any AMD computer that has an ahci controller because you have to slipstream different drivers.

 

If you want to make an XP disk that installs on any PC up to an Intel series 7 chipset and any AMD PC, unzip and slipstream the drivers I have attached under the Attachments line of this reply.

 

 

Tutor
volvo_man
Posts: 17
Member Since: ‎12-21-2011
Message 17 of 17 (92 Views)

Re: Installing Windows on an NC6400

OK thanks for that. I was thinking of using it for an AMD computer that has an IDE hard drive so that should be fine.
Thanks once again for your help.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation