Question

Tutor
Jedi99
Message 1 of 20 (796 Views)
Accepted Solution

New HP M7 / How to ?

Hi , 

I just bought an HP M7 Notebook and would like to do the following and I have NO to Very little knowledge at best on how to accomplish what I would like to do , so here goes.

I want to buy an SSD , I`m thinking the Crucial M4 - 512 GB , and I want to buy Windows 7 Home Premium.

Now the hard part ( or easy if you know how , which is where you guys come in -- I hope ! ).

I install the SSD > Power On my M7 > Pop open the disc tray and put in the Windows 7 DVD , then

I hope that after I push the tray in the BIOS will recognize that know software is on drive C: and will look to the disc drive and ask if I want to boot from the dvd.

I select "yes" ? and do a custom install of the components I will use , then the M7 should restart ?

Then I go to Microsoft and down load the Service Pack 1 > restart.

After it restarts , I go to HP`s support page and down load everything available , all biometric and utilities ,  drivers , etc.

Then I find a good virus tool ( software ) and then install it.

Then buy Home Office / Student for Word and One Note + Excel ( again select install ).

And then I can enjoy my new M7 ?

Is the path I discussed possible and doable ?

Many thanks , and I apologize in advance for my ignorance , but what to you want from a Mac User !!

Thanks again, 

Gary

Regents Professor
HaggisCat
Message 2 of 20 (763 Views)

Re: New HP M7 / How to ?

[ Edited ]

Yes that is basically correct, but you can save yourself some money by simply using your laptop's product key to activate W7.

Also find a folder in Drive "C" named SwSetup, this contains all your drivers and most of your preinstalled software, burn the entire folder to DVD where it may come in handy later.

Here is a link to download W7 as an ISO where you can burn it to DVD. The trick is the W7 download has to be the exact same version as what you're running now on the laptop.