Question

Honor Student
enoobony6735
Message 1 of 14 (32,770 Views)

SM Bus Controller driver for HP 6735s

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum so maybe my problem seems abit trivial to some of you guys but its been keeping me busy for 3 full days now.

I recently installed windows XP pro. on my HP 6735s. I managed to find all the drivers online on HP website but I did not find any driver for "SM Bus Controller"

and this is the only component in device manager which is not installed properly and I have no idea what to do about it. I googled it and tried all the websites I could think of but didn't find this driver.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

here is my system info:

Model: HP Compaq 6735s

Processor: AMD Athlon X2 DualCore QL-62   2.0 Ghz

ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

Distinguished Professor
Rakhmad
Message 2 of 14 (32,752 Views)

Re: SM Bus Controller driver for HP 6735s

SM Bus Controller driver is chipset driver, bundled in AMD/ATI Video graphic driver, try to reinstall the chipset driver.

or

Download South Bridge Driver individually, Here

Please do not forgot to Install .Net Framework next Here before installing AMD/ATI Video/Chipset drivers.

______

Pavilion DV2922TX, XP-SP3 32bit, Intel T5750 2.0Ghz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS with 128MB, 4GB 667 DDR2, 250GB HDD
Tutor
Cshaba
Message 3 of 14 (27,596 Views)

Hy enoobony6735!

I just want to ask two questions of you regarding your 6735s laptop, since I own the same machine and has the same problems. (Win-Xp OS)

How were you able to install your sound card correctly? Whatever driver I install, the driver manager keeps telling me that "a modem on High Definition Audio bus" is an unknown device. What driver do you use for audio?