Question
Reply
 
Student
r2ltmac
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-25-2012
Message 1 of 10 (8,679 Views)

error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

I upgraded to window 8 a month ago, no new software since, no I can not get my computer to start I am getting error code 0xc000021a. What can I do? 

Regents Professor
UniProg
Posts: 4,677
Member Since: ‎12-15-2011
Message 2 of 10 (8,656 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

Hello r2ltmac,

 

Try these steps I found on this document.

 

 

This above issue is always caused by failed Winlogon.exe or Csrss.exe, which stops the Windows and raises the error 0xc000021a. To fix the error, try the following steps:

  1. Click the "start" button, and type "cmd" in the search box.
  2. In the new Command windows, type "System Root\System32\Drwtsn32.exe -I" to register Dr. Watson as the default system debugger, and then press Enter.
  3. Typ "System Root\System32\Drwtsn32.exe", and then choose the options below:
    • Append to existing log file
    • Create crash dump
    • Visual Notification
  4. Restart the computer, and press F8 at the indicated time.
  5. Choose "Last Known Good Configuration" with the arrow keys, and then press Enter.
  6. Highlight an operating system with the arrow keys, and then press Enter.
  7. Restart the computer again to log in normal mode, and upgrade the Windows again.

 

Please let me know if this helps to solve your issue.  If not, please reply with your product number.

 

Good luck!

Signature
↙-----------How do I give Kudos?| How do I mark a post as Solved? ----------------↓
Honor Student
314029
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-11-2013
Message 3 of 10 (6,446 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

I can't even get the computer passed the error screen I've tried so many times I've lost count.  My product I'D is C2M56UA#ABA

Regents Professor
AttackofZaq
Posts: 4,472
Member Since: ‎10-09-2012
Message 4 of 10 (6,420 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

Hello 314029.

Are you able to boot into safe mode?  If you are you could then try the above instructions.  This article can help you boot into Safe Mode.

Let me know if this helps.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white star under my name to give me Kudos as a way to say "Thanks!"

Click the "Accept as Solution" button if I resolve your issue.

Honor Student
314029
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-11-2013
Message 5 of 10 (6,411 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

No I'm unable to even pass the error screen telling me that there was an error and that it needs to restart but after it restarts it does it again.  

Regents Professor
AttackofZaq
Posts: 4,472
Member Since: ‎10-09-2012
Message 6 of 10 (6,407 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

Do you have another Windows 7 computer?  If so, you can create a Windows 7 repair disc to correct the problem.  Here are the instructions.

If you do not have access to another computer then you're only option is to reinstall the operating system.  This will return the computer to its factory condition so you will lose any data which is not backed up.  This document has instructions for performing the recovery.

Have a great day!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white star under my name to give me Kudos as a way to say "Thanks!"

Click the "Accept as Solution" button if I resolve your issue.

Honor Student
314029
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎07-11-2013
Message 7 of 10 (6,403 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

The problem is I got this computer with windows 8 it didn't come as a windows 7

Regents Professor
AttackofZaq
Posts: 4,472
Member Since: ‎10-09-2012
Message 8 of 10 (6,300 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

Hello again 314029.

That was my mistake.  You did mention that you were using Windows 8.

If you have access to another Windows 8 computer you could make a disc from there.  Try these steps.

Did you make any Recovery Media for your Windows 7 installation?

Have a great day!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white star under my name to give me Kudos as a way to say "Thanks!"

Click the "Accept as Solution" button if I resolve your issue.

Honor Student
2montana
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎03-22-2014
Message 9 of 10 (3,263 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

   I CAN NOT GET PASS THE CODE oxcoooo21a. SO I CAN NOT EVEN GET TO THE INTERNET. I AM NOT USING A H P MONITOR, I AM USING A DELL INSPERATION 530. HELP

Honor Student
2montana
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎03-22-2014
Message 10 of 10 (3,262 Views)

Re: error code 0xc000021a, what can I do?

this is a h.p. windows 8. computer and my dell is a windows vista

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation