Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Hobomobo
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎07-15-2009
Message 1 of 5 (3,535 Views)

iexplore.exe uses way too much cpu

Hi,

I bought a new HP 6730b laptop this week and am already having difficulty with iexplore.exe using alot of CPU...up to 80% (335,000kb Mem Usage). I am on Windows XP Pro 2002 SP2 and have just upgraded to IE 8 from IE 7 as a forum suggested simply upgrading IE might do the trick. I also have AVG Anti-Virus Free 8.5.375 installed.

 

I have also disabled indexing as per the suggestion of another forum suggestion...but it's still chewing up the CPU.

 

I'm not very technical, so it's quite frustrating not being able to understand why a new laptop doesn't work perfectly!

 

Can anyone suggest anything that will resolve this problem?

 

Thanks in advance!

 

 

Associate Professor
RoyalSerpent
Posts: 1,250
Member Since: ‎01-27-2009
Message 2 of 5 (3,529 Views)

Re: iexplore.exe uses way too much cpu

Are you seeing 80% CPU load via Task Manager?  Opening a lot of windows will cause the memory load to splike.  Closing IE should recover the RAM.  Set IE to lauch a blank page.  Reboot PC and launch IE.  Check the memory load.  It should not exceed 30MB.

 

Scan the PC for bug.  Since the PC is new, run a full destructive recovery to take windows back to the factory condition.  Call HP if you need hands-holding.

 

http://www.eset.com/onlinescan/

Honor Student
Hobomobo
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎07-15-2009
Message 3 of 5 (3,520 Views)

Re: iexplore.exe uses way too much cpu

ok thanks, i did that and it only showed about 17mb. So does this mean that it is just some website such as hotmail that slow things down? That is when i experience the worst performance.
Associate Professor
RoyalSerpent
Posts: 1,250
Member Since: ‎01-27-2009
Message 4 of 5 (3,510 Views)

Re: iexplore.exe uses way too much cpu

Yup...some site will gobble up RAM.  Porn is famous for this.  Once you leave the site, the IE will gradually shift the allocated RAM to other tasks as needed.  Firefox and Opera are faster browsers with smaller memory footprint.

 

The slowdown is probably a function of that website and Java Script.

Master's Graduate
melanchete
Posts: 672
Member Since: ‎03-28-2009
Message 5 of 5 (3,487 Views)

Re: iexplore.exe uses way too much cpu

Flush your cache and set it to be lower than you currently have set.  You could also try Chrome browser.
Pavilion DV7-1285dx Notebook, Windows 7 64bit, Intel X2 P8600 2.40GHz, Nvidia GeForce 9600M, 6GB RAM, 2x 500GB HD(s)
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation