Question
Reply
 
Tutor
wlgreen0001
Posts: 10
Member Since: ‎01-05-2012
Message 1 of 8 (3,774 Views)

"MPM is not unlocked"

I am attempting to run the Notebook DMI Firmware Interface tool and get the error "MPM is not unlocked".

Does anyone know how to unlock the MPM without calling HP Support and gettng this "Escalted to 3LS"?

Provost
erico
Posts: 25,068
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 8 (3,769 Views)

Re: "MPM is not unlocked"

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

This would be a topic to discuss on another website such as a BIOS modding website. That will certainly be where answers to this would be far easier to come by.

 

Best regards,

erico





Help others seeking a solution by clicking on the "Accept As Solution" button if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for Microsoft or HP****


2014 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Honor Student
erfrey1
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Message 3 of 8 (3,736 Views)

Re: "MPM is not unlocked"

Why is an HP site NOT the place to find an answer to this question given that it is an HP system? I'm having the same issue and having no luck finding any answers because HP doesn't help experirnced techs that do NOT work for HP with issues like this. If they had not sent me a refurbished crap part in the first place then I would not have this issue. Why is it that HP can not just answer this question to save us all the time of having to replace the part again?

Honor Student
erfrey1
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Message 4 of 8 (3,732 Views)

Re: "MPM is not unlocked"

Further more I can't believe an HP expert that I can only assume works for HP is purposely telling people to go out to third party modding site to break into thier own equipment. I'm sorry but this is very troubling to me.

Master's Graduate
Holly_J
Posts: 258
Member Since: ‎05-27-2010
Message 5 of 8 (3,096 Views)

Re: "MPM is not unlocked"

The HP forums are primarily for customer-to-customer help and support and although there are HP employees actively participating, responses here are not necessarily from HP employees (and those that are may be from employees who do not have expert-level hardware/software engineering knowledge - their replies should not be taken as an "official HP response"). Including this one. :smileyhappy:

 

 

------------
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Please click the white Kudos star to the left if my reply was helpful to you. Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem. This will help others, too!
Honor Student
erfrey1
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Message 6 of 8 (3,088 Views)

Re: "MPM is not unlocked"

Then please explain to me how I CAN get an HP expert official response. Because through your admit there are HP reps that do participate but still no response to the question has been "officially" given.

Master's Graduate
Holly_J
Posts: 258
Member Since: ‎05-27-2010
Message 7 of 8 (3,083 Views)

Re: "MPM is not unlocked"

I'd suggest calling HP Support. Is the PC (or motherboard) under warranty? Given similar threads on the issue, in the past, this appears to be something that you won't be able to fix without returning the unit or the motherboard for service/replacement. You may be able to take it to an authorized service center that has the mentioned utility, but you'll have to get that info from HP Support.

 

See http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Hardware-e-g-Windows-8/manufacturing-programming-mode-is-set-t...

 

 

------------
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Please click the white Kudos star to the left if my reply was helpful to you. Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem. This will help others, too!
Student
LiquidPig
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-27-2013
Message 8 of 8 (1,969 Views)

Re: "MPM is not unlocked"

I have been working with this issue, and to unlock the MPM on system, you need to hold down the windows key, while holding the up arrow and the down arrow.  then coldbooting the computer. 

 

On the modle I am working on, this does not require a third hand, though it would help.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation