HP Support Forums
Join in the conversation.
10-22-2009 09:06 AM
I just got a set of recovery discs from HP, as I could not recover my system from the hard drive. This is for Compaq CQ70.
When I try to recover my system using the discs, I get the following prompt:
"This program recreates a factory image on your hard drive.
This includes recovery partition that can help you to recover your PC without any recovery discs."
On the next screen:
"Warning! This process will format your hard drive.
All files on your hard drive will be deleted and your PC will be resintalled with its original factory settings"
What exactly will be formatted and erased?
I have created a data partition where all my backup data is. Will that be removed and erased too?
10-22-2009 07:57 PM
|******Clicking the White Kudos star on the left is a way to say Thanks!.******|
**Clicking Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue helps others who are searching**
++You must be the originator of thread to see the option Accept as Solution++
10-23-2009 03:36 AM
Many thanks for your reply.
I have about 100GB of data there, so a USB stick would not work.
Why does the recovery have to erase EVERYTHING? I have had Sony and Dell laptops before, and their recovery never touched my data partition.