Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
The HP Community is where owners of HP products, like you, volunteer to help each other find solutions.
Archived This topic has been archived. Information and links in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question create a new topic by clicking here and select the appropriate board.
HP Recommended

This is my first time posting here, so please be gentle, folks... :Wink:

Anyway, the problem started when I re-installed a Windows 7 OS (32-bit, I believe) on my HP Pavilion dv6700 with Product Number KN947UA#ABA this Monday. I was able to download all the usual stuff--Windows Cleaner, VLC Player, etc.--but when it came to installing an audio driver, the unit just won't accept the installation of the program I downloaded.

As I recall, I didn't have this problem when I first started installing Windows 7 on my Notebook; I was able to download and install a RealTek program--I didn't know what version it was, but it just ran without a hitch on the Notebook.