Question
Reply
 
Student
IANLOVESHACK
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎05-21-2009
Message 1 of 13 (15,386 Views)
Accepted Solution

Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

1) Download     SP29586.exe: ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp29501-30000/sp29586.exe

 

2) Run it, Create a directory  c:\ swsetup 

 

3) Once all the Files are extracted DO NOT INSTALL

 

4) Now Goto the Start Menu  Click on Devices and Printers, the Click on the Name you have called your  machine this will be marked will a yellow triangle as the sound driver windows 7 has install already is a realtek ac 97 which is not working, 

 

5) Once your Machinename  you will see a general tab and and hardware tab select the hardware tab.

 

6) Look for the Realtek ac 97  under the Device functions, select that and click properties,

 

7) Now tab to the Driver, now click update driver,

 

8) Select the option let me pick from a list of devices drivers, now click have disk

 

9) Click on Browse  select the following location Swsetup\SP29586\SMAXWDM\W2K_XP and click on  smwdmCH6.inf 

 

10)Now the Soundmax Driver should come up select ok and  next. Now your Sound will work

 

Honor Student
senordunda
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎10-24-2009
Message 2 of 13 (14,701 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

I tried this for my R3000 in Windows 7 Professional, but the Realtek ac 97 is not listed in the devices.  The volume icon on the taskbar says "No Audio Output Device" is installed. Any ideas on how to get this working?
Student
LotusDragon
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-12-2009
Message 3 of 13 (14,031 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

I am basicaly having the same problem with my labtop. I tried the following above and yet I still have not been able to get my sound to work. I have had some problems with my power and sound cards before but after I reinstalled windows my graphics card and sound card have not been working to their full potential. I thaught that it was a 64 bit graphics card, but now I am not so sure. I had to jostle the power cord in the back till I mannaged to find a perfect spot to keep the computer running. Before the reinstallation I had to put pressure on the left side of the computer to get the sound to work.. but even then it still came in and out.. "The sound that is." I can see the same driver in the codex menue and it is yellow but, what you stated above did not work.

It says (Cannot continue the hardware update) The wizard cannot find a better match for your hardware than the software that you curently have installed. and then tells me to keep the current software. My sound Icon does not show up when I go to the settings.... I can't play diablo 2 on this no idea why... But my screen is choppy when I scroll through internet sites and it did not do that before. I have a 400mbs connection .... here is my computer information. :Compaq Presario R3000 Intel pent4  2.80ghz    2.80ghz       1.12GB ram and im running on windows xp2 professional.

 

Student
adryann
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-20-2012
Message 4 of 13 (6,323 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

it worked bravley , but just accord special attencion to the 8-th step from the tutorial . You must obtain ``let me chose from list , then look for realtek 97 provider , than chose have disk . Dont update driver from control panel sound list - IT WONT WORK !!!! BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THE 8-TH STEP .

 

thx dude for this tutorial !

Student
berrie
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎05-31-2012
Message 5 of 13 (5,196 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

ot ht nmit

 

Honor Student
walldoo99
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎04-29-2013
Message 6 of 13 (3,473 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

when I tab hardware and select Realtek ac 97 I don't get the option to update drivers. I tried device manger also and when I get to the last folder it doesn't expand to let me select the smwdmCH6.inf

Regents Professor
UniProg
Posts: 4,677
Member Since: ‎12-15-2011
Message 7 of 13 (3,458 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

Hello walldoo99,

 

What is your product number and operating system?

 

Thanks!

Signature
↙-----------How do I give Kudos?| How do I mark a post as Solved? ----------------↓
Honor Student
walldoo99
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎04-29-2013
Message 8 of 13 (3,453 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

r3360us. and windows 7 Premium

but it's moot now. I got a valid xp pro and it's all good. I'm planning to sell this unit and stick to newer units. that all think windows 7 is awesome and have a love affair with it. Thanks anyway

Regents Professor
UniProg
Posts: 4,677
Member Since: ‎12-15-2011
Message 9 of 13 (3,446 Views)

Re: Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

Sounds like a plan.  Thanks for updating your post.


Good luck!

Signature
↙-----------How do I give Kudos?| How do I mark a post as Solved? ----------------↓
Student
usmanusuf
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-18-2013
Message 10 of 13 (2,770 Views)

Compaq Presario R3000 how to get the sound to work with Windows 7 RC

Dear Sir,

 

I am a Compaq user with using "Compaq Presario R3000"

I have recently installed Win 7 on my Laptop and a huge problem with

all the drivers including following:

Realtek AC'97 Audio

ATi Radeon 9200

 

Kind help Urgently Needed.

 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation