Question
Reply
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎03-05-2013
Message 1 of 9 (313 Views)
Accepted Solution

I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR computer?

[ Edited ]

My drives got wiped, my E:\ and D:\. I needed to reintsall my audio drivers, so I uninstalled them, but when I went to reinstall them, it didn't work. Now I just want to completely factory reset my computer. How do I do this with a Recovery Partition?

I have another comuter exactly like mine. Could I harvest anything from that computer to mine?

Reply
0
Accepted Solution

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR computer?

 

Hello NateY3k,

 

When you receive the disks, you want to turn the computer on and insert the first one and then turn the computer off. Wait about 10 seconds and then turn the computer back on and it should load from the disks.

 

Here is a link that will also help you with the process, when you open the link click on “recovery from recovery discs”, and that should also help a little bit.

 

 

Please respond back at your earliest convenience with anymore questions.

Thanks

View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 28,793
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 9 (297 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR comput

[ Edited ]

If the other PC is exactly like it, then you can use the recovery disk set that you created for it to reinstall the operating system and applications.

 

Best regards,
erico

****Please click on Accept As Solution if a suggestion solves your problem. It helps others facing the same problem to find a solution easily****

2015 Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert Consumer

Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎03-05-2013
Message 3 of 9 (279 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR comput

I don't have a disk :smileysad: Could I just copy and paste the files? I know I can, I just uncheck "Hide System Files". But would that work?

Provost
Posts: 23,441
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 4 of 9 (265 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR comput

Burn a Recovery DVD set on the working laptop:

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=us&lc=en&docname=c01867124


******Clicking the Thumbs-Up button is a way to say -Thanks!.******
**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue to help others**
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎03-05-2013
Message 5 of 9 (256 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR comput

That works great, but I don't have a 17 GB thumb drive like it's telling me to have. The E:\ is only 3GB and I have a 4GB. Is there any way for me to do something to the bare minimum of 4GB? I know that I can download (leagally) 3.1GB .ISO files that I can reinstall Windows 7 in, but I don't know how. If I do, then all I need is to get the E:\ from the other computer onto mine, correct?

Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎03-05-2013
Message 6 of 9 (223 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR comput

Ok, so I've decided to buy the $15 recovery disk. Once I get that, what do I do? I don't have the original OS on my computer. Anything would be helpful!

Distinguished Professor
Posts: 3,429
Member Since: ‎03-28-2012
Message 7 of 9 (205 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR computer?

 

Hello NateY3k,

 

When you receive the disks, you want to turn the computer on and insert the first one and then turn the computer off. Wait about 10 seconds and then turn the computer back on and it should load from the disks.

 

Here is a link that will also help you with the process, when you open the link click on “recovery from recovery discs”, and that should also help a little bit.

 

 

Please respond back at your earliest convenience with anymore questions.

Thanks

Clicking the White Kudos star on the left is a way to say Thanks!

Clicking the 'Accept as Solution' button is a way to let others know which steps helped solve the problem!
Tutor
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎03-05-2013
Message 8 of 9 (198 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR comput

Ok. Thank you for that.

Now, one last thing. I know for a fact that Windows 7 64bit Home Premium is 3.1GB. Why do I need a minimum of 17GB to extract a recovery from another computer? Not complaining, just wondering whether it's bloatware or legit HP stuff in that extra 13GB

Provost
Posts: 23,441
Member Since: ‎11-12-2008
Message 9 of 9 (193 Views)

Re: I don't have a partition, does this mean I can't factory reset my Win764bit HP-2000-412NR comput

Drivers,software and yes..a bit of bloat as well.


******Clicking the Thumbs-Up button is a way to say -Thanks!.******
**Click Accept as Solution on a Reply that solves your issue to help others**
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation