Question
Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module
Replies (22)
Reply
 
Top Student
2ksilverbullet
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 11 of 23 (6,206 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

Downloaded the zip file, extracted to a folder and went into device mgr and selected Update Driver and navigated to the new folder.  This is what I get:

 

"The best driver software for your device is already installed.

 

Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date."

 

FWIW - I'm using WPA2-PSK [AES] security.  Xoom and iPad2 (and macbook) all connect without issue.

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,744
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 12 of 23 (6,194 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

Hi 2ksilverbullet,

 

 

See my above post and download and use Vistumbler.  Does Vistumbler find your wireless router?

 

Check to be sure that your PC is using the correct SSID name.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
2ksilverbullet
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 13 of 23 (6,187 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

Hi Dave,

 

Vistumbler doesn't see it.  

 

Thanks,

Matt

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,744
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 14 of 23 (6,170 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Hi Matt,

 

What do the strength bars show in the lower right hand corner of the task bar?  Do you see a red X?

 

You can click on the strength bars and then use the network troubleshooter to diagnose the problem.

 

BTW, how far away is the wireless router?  For test, place the wireless router or PC in close proximity to each other.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
2ksilverbullet
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 15 of 23 (6,166 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Hi Dave,

 

The pc is about 40' away from the router.  It's a straight shot to the pc from the router, obstructed only by a thin wall (not load bearing) with the pc's wifi antenna right at the edge of the wall.  I'll try moving it closer this evening, and may even run a LAN wire from the router to the pc to see what my speeds are.  Any better and I'll work on a more permanent solution.  Is there any way to force the Atheros driver update instead of Windows ASSuming I'm using the latest and greatest?

 

My signal on the 2.4ghz band is excellent on this pc, about 4 bars I believe.  The ssid for my 5ghz band doesn't reflect when searching for nearby networks.  My Xoom receives about 3-4 bars on the 5ghz band while placed next to the PC. 

 

I'm not opposed to purchasing new hardware (if this is even an option with the desktop, not sure if the wifi is built as part of the motherboard).  If you're aware of something that'll play nicely with the desktop/router, I'm all ears.  

 

Thanks again for taking the time to assist.

Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,744
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 16 of 23 (6,163 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

Hi ho silver,

 

If the wall contains metal air vents then you could be in trouble.

 

Yes, installing the driver is a pain.  I tried this on one of my PCs and ended up uninstalling and removing the driver then installing the latest driver. If you should decide to try this then be sure to have the older driver loaded to the desktop and be sure to make a Windows restore point in case something goes badly. Murphy's law could jump up and bite you.

 

BTW, check your antenna connections.

 

p6230y wireless.jpg

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Provost
Big_Dave
Posts: 20,744
Member Since: ‎07-17-2009
Message 17 of 23 (6,153 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Hi,

 

There is another thing for you to check in the wireless router.  Is the router set to braodcast the SSID?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HP DV9700, t9300, Nvidia 8600, 4GB, Crucial C300 128GB SSD
HP Photosmart Premium C309G, HP Photosmart 6520
HP Touchpad, HP Chromebook 11
Custom i7-4770k,Z-87, 8GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650,GTX 760
Custom i7-4790k,Z-97, 16GB, Vertex 3 SSD, Plextor M.2 SSD, Samsung EVO SSD, Corsair HX650, GTX 660TI
Windows 7/8 UEFI/Legacy mode, MBR/GPT
Top Student
2ksilverbullet
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 18 of 23 (6,149 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Yep, both bands are set to broadcast SSID.

 

Once I get my younger 2 kids to bed (8pm est here in Pittsburgh) I'm going to work on moving the router closer, messing with hard wiring, reinstalling drivers, etc.  I'll report back on my findings (hopefully tonight).

 

Thanks again.

Top Student
2ksilverbullet
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎06-21-2011
Message 19 of 23 (6,143 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

[ Edited ]

I think we got it figured out.  I dropped the channel number down from 153 to 44 on the 5ghz band and out of no where, it showed up as a found network (2 bars though, need to work on ext. the antenna). Not sure what relevance the ch. number has but it's working.  I ran a few tests off of speedtest.net on IE8 and came up with the following:

 

Worst #'s

Ashburn, VA

ping: 15ms

Download: 10.07Mpbs

Upload: 3.71Mbps

 

Best #'s

Ashburn, VA

ping:15ms

Download:18.63

Upload: 3.75

 

I ran a LAN line down from the router directly to the PC and came up with download #'s in the 20Mbps range.  Ultimately, I might look into running one permanently but for now, I can move onto the next project (red ring of death on another xbox 360, time to remove more x-clamps).

 

Thanks again for your help Dave, much appreciated!

 

Matt

Student
dsyl
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-15-2011
Message 20 of 23 (6,013 Views)

Re: Atheros 802.11 a/b/g/n Dualband Wireless Module

Where can I get more information on this Atheros module? Is there a way to add an external antenna?

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation